Utah CCTS Hub Liaison Team

CTSA Co-PI/Hub Liaison Team Medical Director

Willard H. Dere, MD, FACP

Dr. Dere has extensive experience in clinical research during his 25 year stint in the biopharmaceutical industry.  The experience was complemented by substantive regulatory and drug safety experience during that time. At the University of Utah, Dr. Dere serves as the Executive Director of the Program in Personalized Health and Co-Director of the U... Read More

Email: willard.dere@hsc.utah.edu

CTSA Co-PI

Rachel Hess, MD, MS

Specialties: Internal Medicine, General

Email: rachel.hess@hsc.utah.edu

Associate Medical Directors

J. Robinson Singleton, MD

I am a neuromuscular specialist with expertise in clinical investigation of metabolic nerve and muscle disease. My research has focused on the relationship between early hyperglycemia, dyslipidemia, obesity and length dependent nerve injury. Our research group established an epidemiological link between otherwise idiopathic sensory predominant neur... Read More

Specialties: EMG, General Neurology, Neurology, Neuromuscular Diseases

Email: rob.singleton@hsc.utah.edu

Alfred K. Cheung, MD

Alfred K. Cheung, M.D. is a Professor of Medicine, Chief of Division of Nephrology & Hypertension and Executive Director of the Dialysis Program at the University of Utah Hospital & Clinics. He holds the inaugural Dialysis Research Foundation endowed chair. Dr. Cheung received his M.D. degree from Albany Medical College in New York. He c... Read More

Specialties: Dialysis, Nephrology & Hypertension

Email: alfred.cheung@hsc.utah.edu

Stephen L. Guthery, MD, MS

Dr. Guthery received his medical degree from the Oregon Health Sciences University and completed his pediatric residency at Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center. He subsequently completed his fellowship in pediatric gastroenterology at Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center.  He obtained a Master’s of Science degree in Epidemiology ... Read More

Research Interests: Genetics of Childhood Crohn Disease and Ulcerative Colitis, Genetics of Childhood Liver Disease, Genomics, Inflammatory Bowel Disease/Crohn's/Ulcerative Colitis

Specialties: Inflammatory Bowel Disease/Crohn's/Ulcerative Colitis, Pediatric Crohn's Disease, Pediatric Gastroenterology, Pediatric Hepatology, Pediatric Ulcerative Colitis

Email: Stephen.Guthery@hsc.utah.edu

Molly B. Conroy, MD, MPH, FACSM, FAHA

Research Interests: Body Composition, Hypertension Management and Cardiovascular Disease Risk Reduction, Physical Activity, Translation of Lifestyle Intervention to Primary Care Setting, Use of Electronic Health Record to Promote Chronic Disease Prevention and Management

Specialties: Internal Medicine, General

Email: Molly.Conroy@hsc.utah.edu

C. Gregory Elliott, MD

Since July of 2007, Greg Elliott, M.D., M.A.C.P., has served as Chairman of the Department of Medicine at Intermountain Medical Center. In this position he is responsible for graduate medical education, continuing medical education, research and clinical care delivered at Intermountain Medical Center by more than 250 physicians who are board cert... Read More

Research Interests: Pulmonary Arterial Hypertension

Specialties: Pulmonary

Email: greg.elliott@imail.org

Executive Administrative Director

Dixie Thompson, BSN, RN

Dixie Thompson, BSN, RN

Email:  dixie.thompson@hsc.utah.edu

Institutional Review Board

Ann Johnson, PhD

Ann Johnson, PhD

Title:   IRB Acting Director

Email:  ann.johnson@hsc.utah.edu

Sarah Mumford

Sarah Mumford

Title:  IRB Operations Manager

Email:  Sarah.Mumford@hsc.utah.edu

Office of Sponsored Projects - Director

Brent Brown, JD

Brent Brown, JD

Title:  Director, Office of Sponsored Projects

Email:  brent.brown@osp.utah.edu

Clinical Trials - Navigator

Jaci Skidmore, BS

Jaci Skidmore, BS

Title:  Director, Clinical Research OPS

Email:  jaci.skidmore@hsc.utah.edu

Clinical Trials - Budget and Feasibility

Pavel Kruchek, MBA

Pavel Kruchek, MBA

Title:  Director, Business OPS

Email:  pavel.kruchek@hsc.utah.edu

Administrative Assistant

Emily Campbell

Emily Campbell

Title:  Administrative Assistant

Email:  Emily.A.Campbell@hsc.utah.edu

Contact Us

Dixie D Thompson
Hub Liaison Team Executive Administrative Director
Emily Campbell
Administrative Assistant
Phone: 801-587-4809
Email: HLT@utah.edu