Adjunct

Denise E. Beaudoin, MD, MSPH, MS

Dr. Denise E. Beaudoin earned her MD from the Medical College of Pennsylvania, her MSPH from the University of Colorado, Department of Preventive Medicine and Biometrics, and her MS from the University of Utah, Department of Biomedical Informatics. She is an Assistant Professor (Lecturer Track) in the University of Utah’s Department of Biomedical I... Read More

Specialties: Preventive Medicine

Email: Denise.Beaudoin@hsc.utah.edu

Phone: 801-581-4080

Andrea H. Bild, PhD

Andrea Bild, PhD, is an assistant professor in the Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology at the University of Utah and an adjunct assistant professor in the departments of Biomedical Informatics and Oncological Sciences. She is an investigator of the Huntsman Cancer Institute and a member of the Nuclear Control of Cell Growth and Differentiati... Read More

Email: andrea.bild@hsc.utah.edu

Phone: 801-581-6287

Donald K. Blumenthal, PhD

Email: don.blumenthal@pharm.utah.edu

Phone: 801-585-3094

Watson A. Bowes, III, MD

Specialties: Anesthesiology

Email: len.bowes@imail.org

Phone:

Benjamin Sands Brooke, MD, PhD

​Dr. Brooke grew up in Salt Lake City and received his Doctor of Medicine from the University of Utah before heading east to complete his internship and residency in General Surgery at the Johns Hopkins Hospital. During his Halsted residency, he received his Ph.D. in Clinical Investigation at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health. He ... Read More

Specialties: Vascular Surgery

Email: benjamin.brooke@hsc.utah.edu

Phone: 801-581-3495

Nicola J. Camp, PhD

Nicola J. Camp, PhD, is a professor in the Departments of Medicine (Division of  Hematology and Hematologic Malignancies) and Human Genetics at the University of Utah School of Medicine. She is a Huntsman Cancer Institute investigator, and a member of the Cancer Control and Population Sciences program. As a genetic epidemiologist/statistical geneti... Read More

Email: nicola.camp@utah.edu

Phone: 801-213-5767

Brian E. Chapman, PhD

Email: Brian.Chapman@utah.edu

Phone:

Hilary Coon, PhD

Email: Hilary.Coon@hsc.utah.edu

Phone: 801-585-3068

Mollie R. Cummins, PhD, RN, FAAN

Dr. Cummins is a health informaticist and faculty member in the informatics programs of both the College of Nursing and School of Medicine. She holds a PhD in nursing science and information science from Indiana University. In 2007, she studied methods of complexity science including agent-based modeling and network analysis at the Santa Fe Institu... Read More

Specialties: Medical Informatics

Email: mollie.cummins@utah.edu

Phone: 801-585-9740

J. Michael Dean, MD, MBA

Chief, Division of Pediatric Critical Care, Vice-Chair, Research, Vice-Chairman for Finance, Department of Pediatrics

Dr. Dean is Professor and Vice Chairman of the Department of Pediatrics at the University Of Utah School Of Medicine. He attended Northwestern University Medical School (1977) and performed his pediatric residency and chief residency at Children’s Hospital of Los Angeles. Dr. Dean obtained critical care fellowship training at The Johns Hopkins Hos... Read More

Specialties: Pediatric Critical Care

Email: mike.dean@hsc.utah.edu

Phone: 801-587-7572

Frank Drews, PhD

Email: drews@psych.utah.edu

Phone: 801-585-1977

Jeffrey D. Duncan, PhD

Email: jeff.duncan@utah.edu

Phone:

Marlene J. Egger, PhD

Dr. Marlene J. Egger is a PhD credentialed biostatistician with additional training in clinical quality improvement, health services research, and qualitative and mixed methods (QUAL/QUAN) research. Professor of Family and Preventive Medicine, she has 38 years’ experience in curriculum development, faculty mentorship, and statistical collaboration.... Read More

Email: marlene.egger@hsc.utah.edu

Phone: 801-587-3335

Jeffrey P. Ferraro, PhD

Test... Read More

Email: jeffrey.ferraro@imail.org

Phone:

Andrew J. Gawron, MD, PhD

Dr. Andrew Gawron is an Assistant Professor at the University of Utah and VA Medical Center. His clinical interests include treating patients with esophageal disease (gastroesophageal reflux disease, motility disorders such as achalasia, and eosinophilic esophagitis). He performs colonoscopy, upper endoscopy and interprets esophageal motility and p... Read More

Specialties: Endoscopy, Eosinophilic Esophagitis, Esophageal Diseases, Esophageal Motility Disorders, Gastroenterology, Gastroesophageal Reflux Disease (GERD)

Email: andrew.gawron@hsc.utah.edu

Phone: 801-581-7803

Per H. Gesteland, MD, MSc

Dr. Gesteland is an Associate Professor of Pediatrics and Adjunct Associate Professor of Biomedical Informatics at the University of Utah School of Medicine. Dr. Gesteland completed a combined Internal Medicine and Pediatrics Residency then went on to get a Masters of Science in Biomedical Informatics. He is a practicing clinician working as an aca... Read More

Specialties: Pediatric Inpatient Medicine

Email: per.gesteland@hsc.utah.edu

Phone: 801-662-3667

Patricia Guenther, PhD, RD

Email: Patricia.Guenther@utah.edu

Phone: 801-581-6730

Adi V. Gundlapalli, MD, PhD

... Read More

Specialties: Clinical Immunology/Immunodeficiency, Infectious Diseases, Medical Informatics

Email: adi.gundlapalli@hsc.utah.edu

Phone: 801-585-7500

Jia-Wen Guo, PhD, RN

Specialties: Nursing Informatics, Oncology Nursing

Email: Jia-Wen.Guo@nurs.utah.edu

Phone:

Marta E. Heilbrun, MD

Marta Heilbrun, MD, is an associate professor in the Department of Radiology at the University of Utah and a member of the Experimental Therapeutics Program. She is the Program Director for the Diagnostic Radiology Residency. Her clinical expertise is in abdominal imaging with an emphasis in imaging the genitourinary tract. Her research is in iden... Read More

Specialties: Body Imaging, Computed Tomography - CT, GYN Imaging, Magnetic Resonance Imaging - MRI, Radiology, Ultrasound, X-Ray

Email: marta.heilbrun@hsc.utah.edu

Phone: 801-581-7553

John R. Holmen, PhD

Email: john.holmen@imail.org

Phone:

Susan D. Horn, PhD

Email: susan.horn@hsc.utah.edu

Phone:

Benjamin D. Horne, MPH, PhD

Email: benjamin.horne@utah.edu

Phone:

Nathan C. Hulse, PhD

As the director of the clinical knowledge management development team at Intermountain Healthcare, I manage a team of software developers who build and maintain our enterprise clinical knowledge repository. I have relevant experience in clinical knowledge management, enterprise data warehousing, and relevant healthcare data exchange standards. I ha... Read More

Specialties: Biomedical Informatics, Medical Informatics

Email: nathan.hulse@imail.org

Phone: 801-507-9252

Brian R. Jackson, MD

Dr. Jackson received his BA in mathematics, his MS in medical informatics, and his MD from the University of Utah, and completed a clinical pathology residency at Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center. Prior to his employment at ARUP, Dr. Jackson was a staff clinical pathologist and informaticist at Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center, a product manage... Read More

Specialties: Pathology, Clinical

Email: brian.jackson@aruplab.com

Phone: 801-583-2787-Ext-3191

Brent C. James, MD

Email: brent.james@imail.org

Phone: 801-442-3730

Lee Min Lau, PhD

Email: leeminlau@mmm.com

Phone: 801-265-4676

Jaehoon Lee, PhD

Email: jaehoon.lee@utah.edu

Phone: 801-507-9218

Michael J. Lincoln, MD

Specialties: Internal Medicine, General

Email: michael.lincoln@va.gov

Phone: 801-588-5032

Gang Luo, PhD

Dr. Gang Luo earned his PhD degree in Computer Science with a minor in Mathematics from the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Dr. Luo is an assistant professor in the University of Utah’s Department of Biomedical Informatics. Dr. Luo's research interests include health/clinical informatics (software system design/development and data analytics), ... Read More

Specialties: Medical Informatics

Email: gang.luo@utah.edu

Phone: 801-213-3565

Christopher G. Maloney, MD, PhD

Dr. Maloney graduated medical school from the University of Missouri in Columbia, MO. He moved to Salt Lake City UT, completing pediatric residency and Chief residency at the University of Utah Affiliated hospitals. He then completed a post-­‐ doctoral research fellowship in molecular biology at the University of Utah Nora Eccles Harris Cardiovascu... Read More

Specialties: Pediatric Critical Care, Pediatric Inpatient Medicine

Email: chris.maloney@hsc.utah.edu

Phone:

Stephane M. Meystre, MD, PhD, MS

Dr. Stephane M. Meystre earned his PhD in Medical Informatics from the University of Utah, his MD from the University of Lausanne, Switzerland, and his MS in Medical Informatics from the University of California, Davis. He is a Research Assistant Professor in the University of Utah’s Department of Biomedical Informatics.His expertise in clinical in... Read More

Email: stephane.meystre@hsc.utah.edu

Phone:

Lab Url: http://meystrelab.bmi.utah.edu

Matthew B. Morgan, MD, MS

Matthew Morgan received his Bachelors of Science in Management Information Systems from Brigham Young University followed by a Masters in Medical Informatics and Doctor of Medicine from the University of Utah.Dr. Morgan completed internship at Sacred Heart Medical Center in Spokane, WA, followed by a fellowship in radiology informatics at Universit... Read More

Specialties: Breast Imaging, Computed Tomography - CT, Magnetic Resonance Imaging - MRI, Mammography, Radiology, Tomosynthesis, Ultrasound, X-Ray

Email: matt.morgan@hsc.utah.edu

Phone:

Alan H. Morris, MD

Specialties: Pulmonary

Email: alan.morris@imail.org

Phone: 801-507-4696

Danielle Mowery, PhD

Email: danielle.mowery@utah.edu

Phone: 801-581-4080

Flory Nkoy, MD, MS, MPH

Dr. Nkoy is an Associate Research Professor at the University of Utah, Department of Pediatrics and an Adjunct Associate Professor in the Department of Biomedical Informatics. He also serves as the Research Director for the Division of Pediatric Inpatient Medicine. His research interest focuses on the care of patients with asthma. In addition to cl... Read More

Email: flory.nkoy@hsc.utah.edu

Phone: 801-662-3660

Ernest Charles (Chuck) Norlin, MD

Dr. Chuck Norlin's pediatric career began in 1980 at FHP, a staff model HMO in Salt Lake City. Two years later, he established Westside Pediatrics in West Valley City, which grew from a solo practice to a 5-person group. There he piloted resident continuity clinic in private practice offices for the University’s pediatric residency program. In 199... Read More

Specialties: General Pediatrics

Email: chuck.norlin@hsc.utah.edu

Phone: 801-585-9945

Stephen R. Piccolo, PhD

Email: stephen.piccolo@hsc.utah.edu

Phone:

Robert T. Rolfs, MD

Email: u0320150@utah.edu

Phone: 801-538-6386

Kerry G. Rowe, PhD

Email: kerry.rowe@imail.org

Phone: 801-442-6765

Matthew H. Samore, MD

Chief, Division of Epidemiology

Matthew Samore, MD is the Principal Investigator of both the Salt Lake VA Informatics Decision Enhancement and Surveillance (IDEAS) Center and the VA Consortium for Healthcare Informatics Research. He is a Professor of Medicine, Adjunct Professor of Biomedical Informatics, and Division Chief of Epidemiology at the University of Utah. Dr. Samore att... Read More

Specialties: Epidemiology/Nosocomial Infections, Infectious Diseases

Email: matthew.samore@hsc.utah.edu

Phone: 801-213-3690

Brian C. Sauer, PhD, MS

My research interests include pharmacoepidemiology, comparative effectiveness research, medical informatics, and causal inference. My goals are to develop new knowledge and methods that improve the research process and realize them in applied research. We are accomplishing this by improving our theoretical understanding of research and causal infe... Read More

Specialties: Epidemiology

Email: brian.sauer@hsc.utah.edu

Phone: 801-755-1955

Shaun C. Shakib, PhD, MPH

Email: Shaun.Shakib@m.cc.utah.edu

Phone:

Ken R. Smith, PhD

Ken Smith, PhD, is an investigator at Huntsman Cancer Institute (HCI), a professor in the Department of Family and Consumer Studies at the University of Utah, and a member of the Cancer Control and Population Sciences Program. As a family demographer and medical sociologist, Smith's research has focused on suspected psychosocial consequences of ge... Read More

Email: ken.smith@fcs.utah.edu

Phone: 801-581-7847

Nancy Staggers, RN, PhD, FAAN

Email: nancy.staggers@chw.edu

Phone: 801-699-0112

Michael B. Strong, MD, FHM

Dr. Strong has a strong interest in Information Technology and was appointed as the Chief Medical Information Officer (CMIO) for the University of Utah in 2008. He is active in the development, design, and implementation of the Electronic Health Record systems for the University of Utah Hospital and Clinics. He is interested in the creation of comp... Read More

Specialties: Hospitalist, Internal Medicine, General

Email: michael.strong@hsc.utah.edu

Phone: 801-581-7822

Katherine A. Sward, PhD, RN

Specialties: Biomedical Informatics, Medical Informatics, Nursing Informatics

Email: kathy.sward@nurs.utah.edu

Phone: 801-585-1481

Sidney N. Thornton, PhD

Email: sid.thornton@imail.org

Phone: 801-442-6736

Iona M. Thraen, PhD

Email: i.thraen@utah.edu

Phone:

James A. VanDerslice, PhD

Jim VanDerslice, PhD is an Associate Professor in the Division of Public Health.  His research focuses on evaluating human exposures to chemical and microbiological hazards in the environment.  Several of his studies have examined contaminants in drinking water and foods, and their effects on infants and children.  He utilizes Geographic Informatio... Read More

Specialties: Epidemiology

Email: jim.vanderslice@utah.edu

Phone:

Sumithra Velupillai, PhD

Email: sumithra.velupillai@utah.edu

Phone:

Richard H. Wiggins, III, MD

After completing my undergraduate degree at the University of Texas at Austin, where my formal education in informatics and computer sciences continued, I attended medical school in the Texas Medical Center. During medical school at the University of Texas Health Sciences Center in Houston, I became involved with research with the Head and Neck Sur... Read More

Specialties: Biomedical Informatics, Computed Tomography - CT, Head and Neck Imaging, Head and Neck Surgical Oncology, Magnetic Resonance Imaging - MRI, Medical Informatics, Neurointerventional Radiology, Neuroradiology, Otolaryngology, Head & Neck Surgery, Radiology, X-Ray

Email: Richard.Wiggins@hsc.utah.edu

Phone: 801-581-4624

Wu Xu, PhD

Email: wxu@utah.gov

Phone: 801-538-7072

Mark Yandell, PhD

Email: myandell@genetics.utah.edu

Phone: 801-581-4422

Qing T. Zeng, PhD

Qing T. Zeng earned her PhD degree in Medical Informatics from Columbia University. She is a Professor in the University of Utah’s Department of Biomedical Informatics, and an IDEA Center Principal Investigator at the University of Utah and the VA Hospital. Her expertise is in clinical and consumer health information extraction, analysis, and pr... Read More

Specialties: Biomedical Informatics

Email: q.t.zeng@utah.edu

Phone: 801-213-3357