Faculty and Staff

Director

Kai Kuck, PhD, ME

Throughout my work, I have been involved in the research and development of innovative medical technologies with a focus on anesthesia and critical care.  My areas of focus include cardiorespiratory monitoring, intelligent decision support, and ventilation.My experience covers the whole range from hands-on engineering for hardware, software, algori... Read More

Email: kai.kuck@hsc.utah.edu

Assistant Director

Joseph A. Orr, PhD, MS, MEM

Email: joseph.orr@hsc.utah.edu

Phone: 801-581-6393

ABL Faculty Members

Lara Brewer, PhD

Dr. Lara Brewer is a Research Assistant Professor at the University of Utah. She has research interests in the following areas: clinical decision support and alarm systems for patient monitoring, pharmacodynamic interactions, cardiopulmonary physiology and modeling gas exchange.... Read More

Email: lara.brewer@hsc.utah.edu

Phone: 801-587-6393

Talmage D. Egan, MD

Chair, Department of Anesthesiology

... Read More

Specialties: Anesthesiology, Neuroanesthesia, Obstetrical Anesthesia

Email: talmage.egan@hsc.utah.edu

Phone: 801-581-6393

Ken B. Johnson, MD, MS

Vice-Chair for Research, Department of Anesthesiology

Dr. Johnson completed his undergraduate education at the University of California at Berkeley graduating with honors in engineering. Graduate work included both a medical degree and a Masters of Science in bioengineering from Tulane University. Dr. Johnson received a health professions scholarship from the US Army. After completing medical school... Read More

Specialties: Anesthesiology

Email: ken.johnson@hsc.utah.edu

Phone: 801-581-6393

Derek J. Sakata, MD

Dr. Sakata received his bachelor of science degree in electrical and computer engineering from the University of California, Irvine in 1993, his medical degree from Loma Linda University, Loma Linda, California in 1999, completed an internship at Arrowhead Regional Medical Center, Colton, California in 2000 and a residency in anesthesiology at the ... Read More

Specialties: Anesthesiology

Email: derek.sakata@hsc.utah.edu

Phone:

Staff

Noah Syroid

Noah Syroid

Technical Co-Director for Patient simulation center

Email: Noah.Syroid@hsc.utah.edu

School of Medicine
30 North 1900 East, Room 3C444
Salt Lake City Utah 84132

Phone: 801-581-6393

Soeren Hoehne

Soeren Hoehne

Senior Biomedical Research Engineer, Technical Co-Director for Patient simulation center

Email: soeren.hoehne@hsc.utah.edu

School of Medicine
30 North 1900 East, Room 3C444
Salt Lake City Utah 84132

Phone: 801-581-6393

Diane Tyler

Diane Tyler

Staff Development Educator

Email: Diane.Tyler@hsc.utah.edu

School of Medicine
30 North 1900 East, Room 3C444
Salt Lake City Utah 84132

Phone: 801-581-6393

Julia White

Julia White

Research Study Coordinator

Email: Julia.White@hsc.utah.edu

School of Medicine
30 North 1900 East, Room 3C444
Salt Lake City Utah 84132

Phone: 801-581-6393

Beca Chacin

Beca Chacin

Simulation specialist

School of Medicine
30 North 1900 East, Room 3C444
Salt Lake City Utah 84132

Phone: 801-581-6393

 

Recent News

We recently received funding from the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation to develop a system which provides supplemental oxygen to pediatric pneumonia patients in low resource countries.

Contact Us

Phone: (801) 581-6393

Directions/Maps

University of Utah Hospital
Anesthesiology Bioengineering Division:

In the hospital take the B elevators to the 3rd floor. Make a left turn as you exit the elevators. The third door on the left side is the entrance to the bioengineering division. If you get lost in the hospital, ask for the Department of Anesthesiology.