Administrative Staff

Brian Allen

Brian Allen

Senior Buyer

Brian procures equipment, supplies and services for the department in accordance with University guidelines as well as state and federal procurement laws.

4520M EEJMRB

801-581-2447

 

Email:  brian.allen@biochem.utah.edu

Katie Brough

Katie Brough

Administrative Assistant

Katie assists in planning events for the Biochemistry Department. Katie is the interim assistant for the Chair of the Department. She also works on web content and development, travel, and other administrative tasks as needed.

4100 EEJMRB

801-585-6001

 

Email:  katie.brough@biochem.utah.edu

Cassie Connell

Cassie Connell

Grants and Contracts Officer

Cassie provides financial support for the department by monitoring spending at a detailed level to ensure financial and grant compliance. She also assists faculty with Post-Award reporting requirements, advises on account spending plans, reconciles final financial reports, and provides an assortment of other financial assistance to Department Faculty and Staff as needed.

4100 EEJMRB

801-583-3218

 

Email:  cassie.connell@biochem.utah.edu

Heidi Johnson

Heidi Johnson

Storekeeper

Heidi receives all of the incoming packages and distributes them to labs of Biochemistry and Pathology. She is also responsible for monitoring the inventory of the Biochemistry Stockroom.

4720B EEJMRB

801-213-2279

 

Email:  heidi.johnson@biochem.utah.edu 

Jared Kirby

Jared Kirby

Administrative Manager

Jared directs daily business operations, formulates the department annual budget, and manages sponsored projects. He also oversees HR including payroll, faculty recruitment, and administrative staff recruitment and retention.

4100A EEJMRB

801-581-4223

 

Email:  jared.kirby@biochem.utah.edu

Rachel Merrill

Rachel Merrill

Business Systems Analyst

Rachel works on process improvement, database solutions, SIENNA, FMS, web development, business intelligence financial reporting, and software integration. 

3600B EEJMRB

801-585-9825

 

Email:  rachel@biochem.utah.edu

Amity Mower, M.A., M.B.A.

Amity Mower, M.A., M.B.A.

Administrative Program Coordinator

Amity coordinates the Biochemistry graduate program, faculty recruitment and FARA, and Development activities; and assists with departmental HR matters.

4100 EEJMRB

801-585-2555

 

Email:  amity.mower@biochem.utah.edu

Nicole Reames

Nicole Reames

Executive Secretary

Nicole provides administrative support for the biochemistry department.

4100 EEJMRB

(801) 581-2117

 

Email:  nicole.reames@biochem.utah.edu 

Thanh (Brandon) Trieu

Thanh (Brandon) Trieu

Senior Accountant

Brandon provides financial analysis support, processes new hires, I-9 submissions/updates, visa applications, educational trainee payments, postdoc NRSA level tracking and assists with Kronos/payroll inquiries.   Purchasing card reallocator and UShop approver, also requests GFA approval for new activities and projects.  Submits core facility work authorizations, billings/invoices, cost transfers and journal entries needed per management report review or request.  Provides chartfield information as needed and reviews/approves financial documents.  

4100 EEJMRB

801-581-2407

Email:  brandon.trieu@biochem.utah.edu