OBGYN Research Network Administration

The Obstetrics & Gynecology Research Network (OGRN) is a highly experienced research infrastructure providing researchers with all aspects of service. The administrative core works hand in hand with team members to deliver the highest quality research.

Contact Information

Vice-Chair for Research

Michael Varner, MD
Phone: (801) 585-5156
Email: michael.varner@hsc.utah.edu

Co-Chair for Research

Erin Clark, MD
Phone: (801) 581-7260
Email: Erin.clark@hsc.utah.edu

Associate Director, Research

Jason Atuaia
Plans, directs, educates, staffs, monitors, evaluates, budgets and care for all other clinical operations and project logistics related to the OGRN; liaison between staff and physicians
Phone: (801) 581-4128
Email: jason.atuaia@hsc.utah.edu

Grants and Contracts Manager

Liz Woolsey
Manages all aspects of the pre-award grant/contract application process including budget development, coordination with the Office of Sponsored Projects and funding agencies, funding opportunity searches for departmental investigators, and some post-award support such as project set-up and post award overview.
Phone: (801) 213-2392
Email: liz.woolsey@hsc.utah.edu

Compliance Manager

Marie Gibson
Manages human subjects protection issues, such as training, IRB submissions from initial submission through study close-out, filing of documentation, FDA regulations, study monitoring visits and/or FDA inspections and compliance oversight, material transfer agreements and data transfer agreements
Phone: (801) 213-2845
Email: marie.gibson@hsc.utah.edu

Regulatory Specialist

Talyn Behzad
Prepares, submits and maintains the regulatory documentation needed to carry out human subjects research. Helps analyze protocols and records to ensure completeness and compliance with appropriate regulations, IRB guidelines, and institutional policies. Provides detailed correspondence to principal investigators and study team to ensure that IRB concerns, questions, and rationale are appropriately understood and resolved according to IRB requirements.
Phone: (801) 585-2872
Email: Talyn.behzad@hsc.utah.edu

Laboratory Manager

Kathy Harvey
Manages all aspects of laboratory operations including biorepository inventory and tracking, shipping and receiving of samples, laboratory certifications and audits, purchasing and maintenance of lab equipment, biohazard and chemical waste disposal, barcode design and printing, budgeting of lab supplies and purchasing recommendations, training of staff on sample collection and processing, development of laboratory manual of procedures (MOP) for various protocols, and regulation of laboratory safety.  In addition to this, manages the development and design of REDCap databases.
Email: Kathy.Harvey@hsc.utah.edu

Administrative Assistant

Kristen Longden

Provides support for OGRN administration and staff.  Responsibilities include purchasing, payroll, study participant reimbursements, travel arrangements for faculty and staff, scheduling and meeting coordination.

Email: kristen.longden@hsc.utah.edu

Accountant

Darin Brady
Phone: (801) 587-0889
Email: Darin.brady@hsc.utah.edu

Please feel free to contact us at any time, at any stage of your project, from first thought to final closing.

CONTACT US

Obstetrics & Gynecology Research Network

Phone: 801-587-8890
Fax: 801-585-5993
Email: obgynresearch@hsc.utah.edu



Help Progress, Give Today

You can help the Department of OBGYN continue to progress with even a small contribution.

Give Today!