Research Faculty

Amanda V. Bakian, PhD

Research Interests: Environmental Epidemiology, Experimental Design, Outcomes Research, Gene-Environment Interaction, Geographical Epidemiology, Public Health Surveillance Systems, Spatial Statistics

Email: amanda.bakian@hsc.utah.edu

Phone: 801-581-5413

Deborah Bilder, MD

Specialties: Child & Adolescent Behavioral Health, Psychiatry, Psychiatry, Child & Adolescent

Email: deborah.bilder@hsc.utah.edu

Phone: 801-581-7952

Dale S. Cannon, PhD

Research Interests: Drug Dependence, Nicotine

Email: dale.cannon@hsc.utah.edu

Phone: 801-585-9107

Hilary Coon, PhD

Hilary Coon's primary research interests within the Department of Psychiatry include finding genes that lead to susceptibility to autism and, genetic risk factors for suicide, and the genetics of nicotine and alcohol addiction. Work to achieve these goals is accomplished through collaborations with national, and international collaborators, and ... Read More

Research Interests: Autism Spectrum Disorders, Child Psychiatry, Genetic Epidemiology, Nicotine Dependence, Obesity, Pulmonary fibrosis, Statistical Genetics, Suicide

Email: Hilary.Coon@hsc.utah.edu

Phone: 801-585-3068

Todd M. Darlington, PhD

I am primarily interested in parsing genetic data to identify the etiology of complex disease. I develop statistical methods for genetic data mining, and my research focuses on complex psychiatric disorders including autism spectrum disorder and suicidal behaviors.

... Read More

Research Interests: Autism Spectrum Disorders, Models, Statistical, Psychiatric Genetics, Statistical Genetics, Suicide

Email: todd.darlington@utah.edu

Phone: 801-213-5763

Anna R. Docherty, PhD

Dr. Docherty’s current NIMH-funded research aims involve 1) genetic subtyping of psychopathology to inform psychiatric nosology and treatment and 2) GWAS-based polygenic prediction of numerous mental and physical health outcomes (the phenome) across critical stages of human development. She is... Read More

Research Interests: Anxiety Disorders, Autism Spectrum Disorders, Biological Psychiatry, Depression, Genetic Risk for Psychopathology, Genomic Analysis, Psychiatric Genetics, Psychopathology, Schizophrenia and Disorders with Psychotic Features

Specialties: Psychiatry

Email: anna.docherty@utah.edu

Phone: 801-581-7952

Douglas D. Gray, MD

Research Interests: Suicide Prevention

Specialties: Child & Adolescent Behavioral Health, Psychiatry, Child & Adolescent

Email: douglas.gray@hsc.utah.edu

Phone: 801-585-1212

Shami Kanekar, PhD

Email: Shami.Kanekar@hsc.utah.edu

Brent M. Kious, MD, PhD

Dr. Kious's current research focuses on developing novel interventions for the treatment of major depressive disorder and the effects of altitude on risk for major depressive disorder and suicide. He is also involved in utilizing advanced neuroimaging techniques, including functional connectivity MRI and magnetic resonance spectroscopy, to iden... Read More

Specialties: Adult Behavioral Health, Psychiatry

Email: brent.kious@hsc.utah.edu

Phone: 801-585-6387

Douglas G. Kondo, MD

My research focuses on three areas: 1) Neuroimaging in child psychiatry; 2) Medication clinical trials in child & adult psychiatry; 3) The genetics of pediatric mood disorders and suicide.

... Read More

Research Interests: ADHD, Adenosine Triphosphate, Adolescent Psychiatry, Adolescent Suicide, Alcohol and Substance Abuse, Anxiety Disorders, Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity, Bipolar Disorder, Child Psychiatry, Clinical Trials, Clinical Trials Methodology, Complementary Therapies, Creatine, Depression, Depressive Disorder, Evidence-Based Medicine, Genetics, Magnetic Resonance Imaging - MRI, Magnetic Resonance Spectroscopy, Mood Disorders, Nuclear Magnetic Resonance, Pharmacogenetics, Phosphocreatine, Psychiatry, Psychopharmacology, Uridine

Specialties: Psychiatry, Psychiatry, Child & Adolescent

Email: Doug.Kondo@hsc.utah.edu

Lab: Lab Website

Vincent Koppelmans, PhD

Email: vincent.koppelmans@utah.edu

Melissa P. Lopez-Larson, MD

Specialties: Psychiatry, Psychiatry, Child & Adolescent

Email: melissa.lopez-larson@hsc.utah.edu

Tiffany Love, PhD

Research Interests: Addiction, Functional Neuroimaging, Neurosciences, Oxytocin, Social Behavior, Social Determinants of Health, Social Support

Specialties: Neuroimaging

Email: Tiffany.Love@hsc.utah.edu

In Kyoon Lyoo, MD, PhD, MMSc

Email: inkylyoo@gmail.com

Erin McGlade, PhD

Email: Erin.McGlade@hsc.utah.edu

Phone: 801-587-1412

J. Michael McIntosh, MD

Research Interests: Structure and function of neuronal nicotinic acetylcholine receptors

Specialties: Adult Behavioral Health, Psychiatry, Psychiatry, Forensic

Email: mcintosh.mike@gmail.com

Phone: 801-585-3622

William M. McMahon, MD

Specialties: Psychiatry

Email: william.mcmahon@hsc.utah.edu

Phone: 801-585-7442

Brian J. Mickey, MD, PhD

Brian J. Mickey is Associate Professor of Psychiatry. He studied physics and biology at the University of Washington, Seattle. He then completed the Medical Scientist Training Program at the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, where he earned his MD and PhD in Neuroscience. After psychiatry residency and postdoctoral fellowship at the Molecul... Read More

Research Interests: Biological Markers, Bipolar Disorder, Brain Stimulation Therapies, Mood Disorders, Neurobiology, Psychiatric Disease, Refractory Depression

Specialties: Adult Behavioral Health, Mood Disorders, Neuroimaging, Pharmacotherapy, Psychiatry

Email: brian.mickey@utah.edu

Phone: 801-587-3297

Perry F. Renshaw, MD, PhD, MBA

Specialties: Psychiatry

Email: PERRY.RENSHAW@hsc.utah.edu

Phone: 801-587-1216

Maria M. Reyes, MD

Research Interests: Geriatric Psychiatry, Lewy Body Dementia, Neuropsychiatric Symptoms, Parkinson's Disease Dementia

Specialties: Adult Behavioral Health - Outpatient, Psychiatry

Email: maria.reyes@hsc.utah.edu

Phone: 801-583-2500

Adrian Rothenfluh, PhD

Dr. Rothenfluh's research focuses on the genetics of psychiatric disorders, especially addiction. His lab uses Drosophila to model various neuropsychiatric conditions and to investigate the molecular, signaling, and neuronal mechanisms that mediate behavior. His lab has a continued commitment to translate his findings to ... Read More

Email: adrian.rothenfluh@hsc.utah.edu

Phone: 801-585-5773

Xianfeng Shi, PhD

Email: Xianfeng.Shi@hsc.utah.edu

Young-Hoon Sung, MD, MS

Psychiatric Research and Neuroimaging: Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI); Magnetic Resonance Spectroscopy (MRS); Functional MRI; Diffusion Tensor Imaging; Positron Emission Tomography; Drug Abuse and Dependence; Mood Disorder; Anxiety Disorder; Statistical Analysis; Data Mining; Image Processing and Analysis; etc

... Read More

Research Interests: Addiction, Alcohol & Drug Abuse, Altitude, Magnetic Resonance Spectroscopy, Methamphetamine, Mood Disorders, Psychiatry

Specialties: Neuroimaging, Psychiatry

Email: yh.sung@utah.edu

Phone: 801-587-1555

Sara L. Weisenbach, PhD

Research Interests: Brain Abnormalities, Cognitive Disorders, Cushing Syndrome, Depression, Endocrinopathy, Neurobiology, Neuropsychology, Psychology

Specialties: Psychiatry

Email: Sara.Weisenbach@hsc.utah.edu

Phone: 801-587-0164

Robert C. Welsh, PhD

Research Interests: Advanced MRI Imaging, Advanced Medical Imaging and Image Data Analysis, Aging, Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis, Artificial Intelligence, Artificial Neural Networks, Brain Connectome Mapping, Brain Mapping, Diffusion Tensor Imaging, Functional Neuroimaging, Machine Learning, Mathematical Computing, Mathematical Modeling, Mathematics and Physics of Medical Imaging with Emphasis on Magnetic Resonance Imaging, Minority Groups, Neurodegenerative Diseases

Email: robert.c.welsh@utah.edu

Deborah A. Yurgelun-Todd, PhD

A. Narrative Report of Research, Teaching, and Clinical Contributions The focus of my research has been on the identification of brain abnormalities, particularly disruptions of the fronto-temporal network, which may represent risk factors for psychiatric illness or may be the site of primary pathology in these illnesses. Research studies have ... Read More

Specialties: Psychology

Email: deborah.yurgelun-todd@hsc.utah.edu

Phone: 801-587-1202