The Department of Medicine Residency Program

A Message from the Program and Department Leaders

Thank you for your interest in the University of Utah Internal Medicine Training Program.  The Department of Internal Medicine enjoys a strong national academic reputation which began with our first Department Chairman, Maxwell Wintrobe, M.D. Ph.D, and continues today under the leadership of John Hoidal, M.D.   Our department is committed to excellence in patient care, education, and research.

The University of Utah offers rich clinical and research opportunities.  Our Internal Medicine training program emphasizes intensive clinical experiences in general internal medicine in a collegial atmosphere. We believe a diverse housestaff enhances the training experience.  Our housestaff have distinct backgrounds, professional interests, outside interests and ultimate career goals but all value teamwork, professionalism and all have strong clinical and academic potential.

The leadership of the program is genuinely interested in each resident as an individual and our program is designed to increase autonomy and flexibility in training progressively over the three years.  Our distinguishing feature in Utah is a unique esprit de corps amongst the housestaff, faculty, and medical students which transfers between departments as well.  Throughout work hour reform, we have worked very hard to maintain a team approach to the patient and continuity of care.  We are very proud to announce a full five-year ACGME accreditation cycle prior to the launch of the ACGME Next Accreditation System in 2013. Because of our exemplary track record, our next self-study review is expected to be in 2019.

We are very excited to meet you and introduce our program and our unique location nestled in the foothills of the Wasatch Range of the Rocky Mountains.  We are confident you will leave this program ranked among the very best physicians in America and well prepared to practice medicine in an inpatient or outpatient setting, or begin a competitive clinical or research fellowship.

 Dr. Caroline Milne

Caroline K. Milne, M.D.
Residency Program Director

Dr. John Hoidal

John Hoidal, M.D.
Department Chair 

 Dr. John R. Michael

John R. Michael, M.D.
Department Vice Chair