Skip to main content

The Dr. Clark Lowe Rich Distinguished Surgeon & Mentor Award

Sponsor: Dr. Clark Lowe Rich’s Family

Presentation includes: Crystal Award and $3,000

This award recognizes an outstanding surgeon who is an exemplary teacher, adviser and mentor to medical students, interns, residents or fellows as well as demonstrates exceptional skill and dedication to the field of surgery.

Nomination and Selection Process: 

Medical students and/or faculty need to submit the name of a faculty member they have worked with who embodies the characteristics noted above, and a two- to three-paragraph letter supporting their nomination.  Nominations need to be submitted to Shawnee Johnson (Shawnee Johnson).  Nominees are required to submit their CV.  A representative of the Rich family, the Dean of Student Affairs, peers and medical students meet as a committee to select the recipient.

Past Recipients:


Laura Lambert, M.D.

2021 Peggy Norton, MD
2020 Ram Nirula, M.D., M.P.H., F.A.C.S.
2019 Courtney L. Scaife, M.D.
2018 Randy Lynn Jensen, M.D.
2017 Raymond R. Price, M.D.
2016 Clough Shelton, M.D.
2015 Daniel J. Vargo, M.D.
2014 Alan S. Crandall, M.D.
2013 Randall J. Olson, M.D.
2012 Leigh A. Neumayer, M.D.
2011 Edward W. Nelson, M.D.
2010 Rebecka L. Meyers, M.D.
2009 William T. Couldwell, M.D.
2008 Sean J. Mulvihill, M.D.
2007 Richard G. Middleton, M.D.
2006 Robert Glasgow, M.D.