Skip to main content

The Arnold P. Gold Foundation Humanism in Medicine Award

Sponsor: The Arnold P. Gold Foundation, and administered through the Organization of Student

Representatives (OSR) and the American Association of Medical Colleges (AAMC).

Presentation includes:  Plaque

This award honors a faculty physician who exemplifies the qualities of a caring and compassionate mentor in the teaching and advising of medical students.  The recipient also needs to possess the personal qualities necessary for the practice of patient-centered medicine by teaching ethics, empathy and service by example.

Nomination and Selection Process: 

Submit the name of a faculty physician you have worked with whom you think embodies the characteristics noted below, and a one- to two-paragraph summary supporting your nomination. 

The OSR will select the recipient based on the nominee’s CV and an interview.  The recipient’s nomination will then be forwarded to the AAMC for national consideration. 

Past Recipients:

2021 Jared Huber, M.D.
2020 Amy Nicole Cowan, M.D.
2019 John J. Ryan, M.D., F.A.C.C., F.A.H.A
2018 Philip A. Kithas, M.D., Ph.D
2017 Megan L. Fix, M.D.
2016 Mary E. Steinmann, M.D.
2015 Karly A. Pippitt, M.D.
2014 Balamurali K. Ambati, M.D., Ph.D., M.B.A
2013 Karly A. Pippitt, M.D.
2013 Saundra S. Buys, M.D.


Read more