Skip to main content

The Dr. Jan Ido Terpstra Award

Sponsor: Medical Class of 2015

Presentation includes:  Award

The Class of 2015 established the Dr. Jan Ido Terpstra Memorial Award to honor Dr. Terpstra after his unexpected passing on November 23, 2014. Dr. Terpstra excelled as a psychiatrist, and he worked vigorously to address the mental health and wellness of the University of Utah School of Medicine's student body. The award will be presented annually to a faculty member or a member of the senior class who displays the same emphasis on compassion, empathy, and class unity that defined Dr. Terpstra. The recipient will receive a certificate and their name will be placed on a perpetual plaque at the School of Medicine.

Nomination and Selection Process: 

Nominations are solicited from members of the graduating medical class and the graduating class’ co-presidents select the recipient.

Past Recipients:

2022 Gina Allyn
2021 Jessica Zhu
2020 Lillian B. Boettcher
2019 Guinn Ellen Dunn
2018 Adam Stevenson, M.D.
2017 Michelle Vo, M.D.
2016 Gregory Douglas Phillips
2015 Daryl Scott McLaren