Sarah Alexander

Sarah Alexander

Grants & Contracts Officer

Sarah provides financial support for the department by monitoring spending at a detailed level to ensure financial and grant compliance. She also assists faculty with Post-Award reporting requirements, advises on account spending plans, reconciles final financial reports, and provides an assortment of other financial assistance to Department Faculty and Staff as needed.

4100 EEJMRB

801-213-3218

sarah.alexander@biochem.utah.edu

Brian Allen

Brian Allen

Buyer

Brian procures equipment, supplies and services for the department in accordance with University guidelines as well as state and federal procurement laws.

4520M EEJMRB

801-581-2447

brian.allen@biochem.utah.edu

Indira Gutierrez

Indira Gutierrez

Executive Secretary

Indira provides administrative support for the Sundquist and Hill laboratories, scheduling appointments, travel and miscellaneous administrative tasks.

3520 EEJMRB

801-213-6920

indira.gutierrez@biochem.utah.edu

Heidi Johnson

Heidi Johnson

Storekeeper

Heidi receives all of the incoming packages and distributes them to labs of Biochemistry and Pathology. She is also responsible for monitoring the inventory of the Biochemistry Stockroom.

4720B EEJMRB

801-585-7463

heidi.johnson@biochem.utah.edu 

Jared Kirby

Jared Kirby

Administrative Manager

Jared directs daily business operations, formulates the department annual budget, and manages sponsored projects. He also oversees HR including payroll, faculty recruitment, and administrative staff recruitment and retention.

4100A EEJMRB

801-581-4223

jared.kirby@biochem.utah.edu

Rachel Merrill

Rachel Merrill

Business Systems Analyst

Rachel works on process improvement, IT solutions, web development, and business intelligence financial reporting.

4600 EEJMRB

801-581-3824

rachel at biochem dot utah dot edu

Diana Sperry Mills

Diana Sperry Mills

Administrative Assistant

Diana provides general administrative support for the department, and is the receptionist in the biochemistry administration main office.

4100 EEJMRB

801-585-6001

diana.sperry@biochem.utah.edu

Kay Willden

Kay Willden

Accountant

Kay processes new hires, I-9 submissions/updates, visa applications, educational trainee payments, postdoc NRSA level tracking and assists with Kronos/payroll inquiries.   Purchasing card reallocator and UShop approver, also requests GFA approval for new activities and projects.  Submits core facility work authorizations, billings/invoices, cost transfers and journal entries needed per management report review or request.  Provides chartfield information as needed and reviews/approves financial documents.  

4100 EEJMRB

801-581-2407

k.willden@biochem.utah.edu

Jill Wilson

Jill Wilson

Administrative Program Coordinator

Jill coordinates the Biochemistry graduate program, faculty recruitment and FARA, and Development activities; and assists with departmental HR matters.

4100 EEJMRB

801-585-2555

jill.wilson@biochem.utah.edu