Skip to main content

The A. Marsh Poulson Jr., MD, Annual Lectureship memorializes the first subspecialty-trained reproductive surgeon in the Intermountain West.

Dr. Poulson (1937–1996) completed undergraduate, medical school, and residency training in obstetrics and gynecology at the University of Utah. He then completed a reproductive surgery fellowship at the University of Pennsylvania. He returned to the faculty of the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology in 1969.

In the 30 years Dr. Poulson spent at the University of Utah as a resident and faculty member, he taught over 3,000 medical school graduates and 436 residents in obstetrics and gynecology. He assisted thousands of couples in their desires to bring a child into their home, also delivering many of those babies.

He and his colleagues began the first IVF program in the Intermountain West in 1982.

Utah Center for Reproductive Medicine

The Utah Center for Reproductive Medicine now serves as a center of excellence in this field of medicine. Dr. Poulson served faithfully for 24 years as the Chairman of the Medical Records Committee at the University of Utah and on the United States Medical Licensing Examination Test Development Committee for Obstetrics and Gynecology and the National Board of Medical Examiners.

Personal Life

Despite his busy clinical and administrative roles with the University of Utah, and community and religious service, he was a husband and father first. Above all of these accomplishments, Marsh was a simple, honest, hardworking family man. He thoughtfully and skillfully cared for his fellow beings.

The lectureship invites internationally recognized leaders in the field of reproductive endocrinology and infertility to enlighten his colleagues, students, and friends, as he did. 

A. Marsh Poulson Jr., MD, Past Lectureships

2013 Andrew Crowshaw, MBA
2012 Bradley R. Cairns, PhD
2011 Serdar E. Bulun, MD
2010 Sean Tipton
2009 Bradley J. VanVoorhis, MD
2008 Tommaso Falcone, MD, FACOG
2007 Germaine M. Buck Louis, PhD, MS
2006 David Grimes, MD
2005 Robert F. Casper, MD
2004 Sarah L. Berga, MD
2003 Garnet L. Anderson, PhD
2002 Charles Hammond, MD
2001 Samuel S. C. Yen, MD, D.Sc.
2000 Leon Speroff, MD
1999 Howard Jones III, MD
1998 Luigi Mastroianni, MD

Contact Us

Education Program Manager
Natalie Moore

Phone: 801-581-5501