Skip to main content
Miko Filon

Miko Filon, MD

  • About Me

    I was born in Wroclaw Poland but moved to the United States when I was just 3 years old. I grew up in Northern Wisconsin before attending University of Wisconsin-Madison for both my undergraduate and medical education.

    Medical Areas of Interest

    I have always been drawn to long operations and the oncology patient population. My grandfather passed away while in medical school with aggressive prostate cancer which led me to spend a year dedicated to basic science and translational prostate cancer research. The beautiful thing to me about urology has always been the breadth, so I am excited to explore more of the field and find my place.

    Interests & Hobbies

    (Almost) anything outside. Hiking/backpacking/camping with my fiancée and dog is among my favorites. I love to snowboard and could not be happier about being at a program that you can get a few runs in after work. I have picked up road biking in the last few years and cannot get enough of the epic views and climbs Utah has to offer.

    Why Utah?

    I had a pretty significant personal draw to the program (9 people from my medical school, including my fiancée matched out here) but I could not be more happy to be in Utah. It fits my personality perfectly, there are so many beautiful things to do so close to the city, and it was important to me to be able to take advantage of free time in the context of a busy residency. This program stood out to me as it had all the components that I felt would give me a balanced training, including a VA, a strong dedication to global medicine, high volume, and exposure to rural patient populations.