Skip to main content

Task 1

The purpose of Task 1 is to establish a Coordinating Body consisting of key stakeholders in the region that represent organizations with public health emergency preparedness and response responsibilities at the local, state, tribal, and regional levels. This group is working together by consensus using a modified Delphi process to create a 5-year work plan for the Region VIII CPHEPR. The work plan will recommend strategies and interventions to improve PHEPR capabilities at all levels, with emphasis given to evidence-based practices. The work plan will also include the training, implementation, or development of each proposed strategy.


Task 1 Coordinating Body Representation

Task 1 Representation Map


Task 1 Timeline

Task 1 Timeline


Task 1 Coordinating Body Membership




Mitch Saruwatari Director, National Emergency Management, Kaiser Permanente CO, MT, ND, SD, UT, WY
Celeste Peterson Emergency Management Program Manager, Intermountain Health Care, Center for Disaster Preparedness CO, MT, UT, WY
Steve Sanchez Chair of the Southeast Regional Healthcare Coalition, Hospital Emergency Preparedness Committee CO
** Public Health Transition Coordinator, La Plata County Public Health Department CO
** EPR Coordinator, Montrose County Public Health Department CO
Amanda Hettinger Director, Office of Emergency Preparedness and Response CO
Tony Ward Chair and Professor, School of Public and Community Health Sciences, University of Montana MT
Peter Callahan Supervisor, Public Health Emergency, Department of Public Health and Health Services MT
Cindee Mckee Healthcare Coalition Director, Hospital Preparedness Program MT
Colin Tobin Hospital Program Preparedness Manager MT
Nezar Wehbi State Health Officer and Epidemiologist ND
Juli Sickler Director of Emergency Preparedness and Response, Department of Health ND
Gary Schwartz Chair/Director, MPH Program, University of North Dakota ND
Marcus Lee PHEP Coordinator, Grand Forks Public Health Department ND
Whitney Lutkemeier Assistant Administrator for Public Health Preparedness and Response, Department of Health SD
** STS Healthcare Coalition Manger, Salt Lake County Health Department UT
Kirk Benge Health Officer, Tri-County Health Department UT
Rich Swanson Risk Manager, Davis County School District UT
Leisha Nolen State Epidemiologist, Department of Health and Human Services UT
Kasey Shakespear Assistant Director, Rural Health Association of Utah UT
Cassie Meredith Emergency Manager, Paiute Indian Tribe of Utah UT
Traci Foutz Emergency Response Coordinator, Fremont County WY
Alexia Harrist State Health Office, Department of Health WY
Kris Cundall Education Counselor, Wyoming Health and Safety, Department of Education WY
Jean Stachon Health Officer, Sweetwater County WY

**To be posted at a later date