Skip to main content

MedExcellence Awards

Annually, the school hosts the MedExcellence Awards Ceremony which includes the presentation of the Distinguished Alumni Awards, CompHealth Community Faculty Awards, and alternating presentation of the Golden Anniversary Prize for Clinical Investigation and the S. Paul Southwick Prize for Clinical Excellence and Teaching Award. 

We invite you to nominate an alumni, physician, colleague, agency or member of the community who has contributed in extraordinary ways to the practice or support of medicine in consideration for these awards. 

Levels of Achievement

Distinguished Alumni

Distinguished Alumni is granted to School of Medicine alumni for significant professional accomplishments in the field of medicine through excellence in clinical practice, academic activities, and/or research distinction. 

Distinguished Humanitarian

Distinguished Humanitarian is granted to individuals, both alumni and non-alumni, or an organization, that has made outstanding contributions to the health and welfare of our communities, locally or globally.

Distinguished Service

Distinguished Service is granted to individuals, both alumni and non-alumni, who have made outstanding contributions to the school, the community, and the practice of medicine.

Submit a nomination today

Nominations are due Jan 1

Submission Criteria

The following submission criteria must be included and will be used in determining the nominee's qualifications for receiving the award:

  • Nomination Letter: A letter that states the category of nomination and establishes the candidate's qualifications with clear and concise detail.
  • Curriculum Vitae: The nominee's vita or professional résumé, including a current address. 
  • Letters of Support: A minimum of three supporting letters of nomination from other individuals (peers, current and former colleagues and mentors/mentees, etc.).
  • Any additional information that would further substantiate the nomination (optional). 


Nominations are due Jan. 1 for each year's awards.

Direct Nominations To:

You may submit nominations in the following ways: