Skip to main content

M. Paul Southwick Prize for Clinical Excellence and Teaching


Karl A. Sanders, MD
The M. Paul Southwick Prize for Excellence in Clinical Medicine and Teaching

For his exceptional talent as one of the top educators in the Department of Internal Medicine. An associate professor of clinical medicine, Sanders trains fellows in pulmonary and critical care.
Read more

Watch the Awards Video

 About the M. Paul Southwick Prize for Clinical Excellence and Teaching

In 1995, at the 50th year celebration of their graduation from medical school, the Class of 1945 established the Golden Anniversary Prize endowed fund to:

  • lend recognition and emphasize the importance of clinical observations and clinical investigation among the contributory sources of advancement in medical knowledge; and by application of the information in medical practice directly benefit patients; and
  • to encourage interest in clinical investigation and financial support for research by recognition of such achievement, especially of young physicians at the conclusion of their years of postgraduate training or in the early years of career development.

Over time the endowment has grown from gifts of class members and a planned gift from class member Paul Southwick, MD. Currently, the $4,000 prize is awarded every other year at the School of Medicine Awards Banquet, with a new prize, the M. Paul Southwick Award for Clinical Excellence and Teaching in Internal Medicine to be awarded in opposite years.


2017 Recipient

Barry Stults, MD

 Past Recipients