Skip to main content

(Last updated April 21, 2023)

For members writing manuscripts, please make sure to include coauthors to represent each of the studies and centers included in your project.  The grant acknowledgement information is also provided by study in the table below.  Once you have compiled your coauthor list, please send it to Amy (amy.lee@utah.edu) and Mia ( mia.hashibe@utah.edu), so that we can double check the list and also let you know how to order the interior coauthors. Thanks!

PubMed Central Manuscript Deposition *****REQUIRED FOR ALL INHANCE MANUSCRIPTS*****
Each INHANCE manuscript is REQUIRED to be deposited in the PubMed Central System (PMC) since the INHANCE analyses projects are funded by the US NIH.

    • Even if the first or corresponding author is not funded by the NIH, the manuscript needs to be deposited to PMC.
    • Most journals have an option upon submission/acceptance where they will deposit the manuscript to PMC for you. Some journals will not release the manuscript to PMC until 12 months have passed - this is fine.
    • If you do not check the option for the journal to deposit on your behalf, you (First and corresponding authors) will be responsible for depositing the accepted version of the manuscript into the NIH Manuscript Submission System ( http://www.nihms.nih.gov/).
    • If you do not deposit to PMC, it will inconvenience the NIH funded INHANCE members, since the NIH is actively checking on deposition and will HOLD

GRANT AWARDS if manuscript deposition is not complete.
* Please make sure to list/attribute the two data pooling grants NCI R03CA113157 and NIDCR R03DE016611 within the PMC system.

Study no Study/Paper Authors Affiliation Email Grant
acknowledgement
0 pooled data coordinators Paolo Boffetta Stony Brook Cancer Center, Department of Family, Population and Preventive Medicine, Stony Brook University, Stony Brook, NY, USA; Department of Medical and Surgical Sciences, University of Bologna Bologna, Italy paolo.boffetta@stonybrookmedicine.edu INHANCE Pooled Data Project:
NCI R03CA113157
NIDCR R03DE016611
Mia Hashibe Division of Public Health, Department of Family & Preventive Medicine, University of Utah School of Medicine, and Huntsman Cancer Institute, Salt Lake City, Utah mia.hashibe@utah.edu
Yuan-Chin Amy Lee Division of Public Health, Department of Family & Preventive Medicine, University of Utah School of Medicine, and Huntsman Cancer Institute, Salt Lake City, Utah amy.lee@utah.edu
Shu-Chun Chuang Institute of Population Health Sciences, National Health Research Institutes, Taiwan scchuang@nhri.org.tw
1 Milan
(1984-1989)
Eva Negri Department of Biomedical and Clinical Sciences, University of Milan, Milan, Italy eva.negri@unimi.it Milan study: Italian Association for Research on Cancer (AIRC)
Valeria Edefonti Department of Clinical Sciences and Community Health, University of Milan, Milan, Italy valeria.edefonti@unimi.it
2 Aviano Luigino Dal Maso Epidemiology and Biostatistics Unit, CRO Aviano National Cancer Institute, Aviano, Italy dalmaso@cro.it Aviano study: Italian Association for Research on Cancer (AIRC), Italian League Against Cancer and Italian Ministry of Research
3 France Simone Benhamou National Institute of Health and Medical Research, Inserm U1018, Villejuif, France simone.benhamou@inserm.fr France study: Swiss League against Cancer [KFS1069-09-2000], Fribourg League against Cancer [FOR381.88], Swiss Cancer Research [AKT 617] and Gustave-Roussy Institute [88D28];
4 Italy multicenter Diego Serraino Epidemiology and Biostatistics Unit, CRO Aviano National Cancer Institute, Aviano, Italy serrainod@cro.it Italy multicenter study: Italian Association for Research on Cancer (AIRC), Italian League Against Cancer and Italian Ministry of Research
5 Switzerland Fabio Levi Institut Universitaire de Medecine Sociale et Preventive (IUMSP), Centre Hospitalier Universitaire Vaudois and University of Lausanne, Lausanne, Switzerland fabio.levi@bluewin.ch Swiss study: Swiss League against Cancer and the Swiss Research against Cancer/Oncosuisse [KFS-700, OCS-1633]
6 Central Europe Paolo Boffetta International Prevention Research Institute, Lyon, France
The Tisch Cancer Institute, Mount Sinai School of Medicine, New York, NY, USA
Paolo.Boffetta@stonybrookmedicine.edu Central Europe study: World Cancer Research Fund and the European Commission INCO-COPERNICUS Program [Contract No. IC15- CT98-0332]
Paul Brennan International Agency for Research on Cancer brennan@iarc.fr
Banska: Eleonora Fabianova Regional Authority of Public Health in Banska Bystrica, Slovakia Eleonora.fabianova@vzbb.sk
Warsaw: Jolanta Lissowska Dept. of Cancer Epidemiology and Prevention, M. Sklodowska-Curie National Research Institute of Oncology, Warsaw, Poland jolanta.lissowska@pib-nio.pl
Bucharest: Dana Mates National Institute of Public Health, Bucharest, Romania dmates@gmail.com
Budapest: Tamas Pandics National Public Health Center, Budapest, Hungary pandics.tamas@nnk.gov.hu
Moscow: Oxana Shangina Cancer Research Centre, Moscow, Russia oshangina@mail.ru
Lodz: Beata Świątkowska Nofer Institute of Occupational Medicine, Lodz, Poland beata.swiatkowska@imp.lodz.pl
7 New York
Multicenter
Joshua Muscat Penn State College of Medicine, Hershey, PA, USA jmuscat@psu.edu NY multicenter study: NIH [P01CA068384 K07CA104231]
8 Seattle
(1985-1995)
Chu Chen
Stephen M. Schwartz
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, Public Health Sciences Division Epidemiology Program, Seattle, WA, USA cchen@fhcrc.org sschwart@fredhutch.org Seattle study: NIH [R01CA048996, R01DE012609]
9 Iowa Elaine Smith College of Public Health, University of Iowa, Iowa City, IA, USA elaine-smith@uiowa.edu Iowa study: NIH [NIDCR R01DE011979, NIDCR R01DE013110, NIH FIRCA TW001500] and Veterans Affairs Merit Review Funds
10 North Carolina
(1994-1997)
Andrew F. Olshan University of North Carolina School of Public Health, Chapel Hill, NC, USA andy_olshan@unc.edu North Carolina study: NIH [R01CA061188], and in part by a grant from the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences [P30ES010126]
11 Tampa Philip Lazarus Washington State University College of Pharmacy, Spokane, WA, USA phil.lazarus@wsu.edu Tampa study: NIH [P01CA068384, K07CA104231, R01DE013158]
12 Los Angeles Zuo-Feng Zhang UCLA School of Public Health, Los Angeles, CA, USA zfzhang@ucla.edu Los Angeles study: NIH [P50CA090388, R01DA011386, R03CA077954, T32CA009142, U01CA096134, R21ES011667] and the Alper Research Program for Environmental Genomics of the UCLA Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center
Hal Morgenstern Departments of Epidemiology and Environmental Health Sciences, School of Public Health, and Department of Urology, Medical School, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI, USA halm@umich.edu
13 Houston Erich M. Sturgis Department of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery, Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, TX, USA Erich.Sturgis@BCM.edu NA
Guojun Li UT-M.D. Anderson Cancer Center, Houston, Texas, USA gli@mdanderson.org
14 Puerto Rico Richard B. Hayes Division of Epidemiology, New York University School Of Medicine, NY, New York, USA richard.hayes2@nyumc.org Puerto Rico study: jointly funded by National Institutes of Health (NCI) US and NIDCR intramural programs
Mark Purdue Division of Cancer Epidemiology and Genetics, National Cancer Institute, Rockville, MD, USA mark.purdue@nih.gov
15 Latin America Paolo Boffetta International Prevention Research Institute, Lyon, France
The Tisch Cancer Institute, Mount Sinai School of Medicine, New York, NY, USA
paolo.boffetta@stonybrookmedicine.edu Latin America study: Fondo para la Investigacion Cientifica y Tecnologica (FONCYT) Argentina, IMIM (Barcelona), Fundaco de Amparo a` Pesquisa no Estado de Sao Paulo (FAPESP) [No 01/01768-2], and European Commission [IC18-CT97-0222]
Paul Brennan International Agency for Research on Cancer brennan@iarc.fr
Buenos Aires: Marta Vilensky Institute of Oncology Angel H. Roffo, University of Buenos Aires, Argentina mvilen1@yahoo.com
Cuba: Leticia Fernandez Institute of Oncology and Radiobiology,Havana, Cuba leticiaf@infomed.sld.cu
letty_fer@yahoo.com
Goiania: Maria Paula Curado Epidemiology- CIPE/ACCAMARGO, Sao Paulo, Brazil mp.curado@cipe.accamargo.org.br
mariapcurado@gmail.com
Pelotas: Ana M. B. Menezes Universidade Federal de Pelotas, Pelotas, Brazil anamene.epi@gmail.com
Porto: Alexander W. Daudt Hospital de Clinicas de Porto Alegre, Porto Alegre, Brazil awdaudt@hotmail.com
Rio: Rosalina Koifman Escola Nacional de Saude Publica, Fundacao Oswaldo Cruz, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil rosalina.koifman@ensp.fiocruz.br
rosalina.koifman@hotmail.com
Sao Paulo: Victor Wunsch-Filho Universidade de Sao Paulo, Sao Paulo, Brazil wunsch@usp.br
16 IARC Intl multicenter Silvia Franceschi Centro di Riferimento Oncologico (CRO), IRCCS, Aviano, Italy silvia.franceschi@cro.it IARC Multicenter study: Fondo de Investigaciones Sanitarias (FIS) of the Spanish Government [FIS 97/ 0024, FIS 97/0662, BAE 01/5013], International Union Against Cancer (UICC), and Yamagiwa-Yoshida Memorial International Cancer Study Grant
Rolando Herrero International Agency for Research on Cancer, Lyon, France HerreroR@iarc.fr
17 Boston Karl Kelsey Brown University, Providence, Rhode Island, USA karl_kelsey@brown.edu Boston study: NIH [R01CA078609, R01CA100679]
Michael McClean Boston University School of Public Health, Boston, MA mmcclean@bu.edu
18 Rome Stefania Boccia Sezione di Igiene, Istituto di Sanita Pubblica, Universita Cattolica del Sacro Cuore, Roma, Italia; Fondazione Policlinico Universitario A.Gemelli IRCCS, Roma, Italia. Stefania.Boccia@unicatt.it stefania.boccia@policlinicogemelli.it Rome study: AIRC (Italian Agency for Research on Cancer)
Gabriella Cadoni Istituto di Clinica Otorinolaringoiatrica, Universita Cattolica del Sacro Cuore, Roma, Italia; Istituto di Clinica Otorinolaringoiatrica, Fondazione Policlinico Universitario A.Gemelli IRCCS, Roma, Italia. gabriella.cadoni@unicatt.it gabriella.cadoni@policlinicogemelli.it
19 US multicenter Mark P. Purdue Division of Cancer Epidemiology and Genetics, National Cancer Institute, Rockville, MD, USA purduem@mail.nih.gov The Intramural Program of the NCI, NIH, United States
20 Sao Paulo Victor Wunsch-Filho Universidade de Sao Paulo, Sao Paulo, Brazil wunsch@usp.br Sao Paulo Research Foundation (FAPESP) (GENCAPO 04/12054-9, 10/51168-0)
Marcos Brasilino de Carvalho (for follow-up projects only) Department of Head and Neck, Heliopolis Hospital, São Paulo, Brazil brasilino.heliopolis@gmail.com
Rossana Verónica Mendonza López (for follow-up projects only) Cancer Institute of the State of São Paulo (ICESP), São Paulo, Brazil rossana.veronica@hc.fm.usp.br
rossana.lopez@icesp.org.br
21 MSKCC Stimson Schantz New York Eye and Ear Infirmary, New York, NY, USA sschantz@nyee.edu MSKCC study: NIH [R01CA051845]
Guo-Pei Yu Department of Otolaryngology, School of Medicine, New York Medical College, Valhalla, New York yugp@msn.com
22 Seattle-LEO Thomas L. Vaughan Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, Seattle, WA, USA tvaughan@u.washington.edu Seattle-LEO study: NIH[R01CA030022]
23 Western Europe(ARCAGE) Paul Brennan International Agency for Research on Cancer brennan@iarc.fr European Community (5th Framework Programme) grant no QLK1-CT-2001- 00182
Prague: Ivana Holcatova Institute of Hygiene and Epidemiology, Prague, Czech Republic iholc@lf1.cuni.cz
Bremen: Wolfgang Ahrens Leibniz Institute for Prevention Research and Epidemiology, BIPS, and University of Bremen, Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science, Institute of Statistics, Bremen, Germany ahrens@leibniz-bips.de
Athens: Pagona Lagiou School of Medicine, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, Athens, Greece pdlagiou@med.uoa.gr
Aviano: Diego Serraino/Jerry Polesel Epidemiology and Biostatistics Unit, CRO Aviano National Cancer Institute, Aviano, Italy serrainod@cro.it; polesel@cro.it
Padova: Cristina Canova  University of Padua, Padova, Italy cristina.canova@unipd.it;
lorenzo.simonato@unipd.it
Turin: Lorenzo Richiardi  Department of Medical Sciences, University of Turin, Turin, Italy lorenzo.richiardi@unito.it;
franco.merletti@unito.it
Dublin:Claire Healy Trinity College School of Dental Science, Dublin, Ireland claire.healy@dental.tcd.ie
Oslo: Ståle Nygård Cancer Registry of Norway, Oslo, Norway stny@kreftregisteret.no
Glasgow: David I. Conway School of Medicine, Dentistry, and Nursing, College of Medical, Veterinary and Life Sciences, University of Glasgow, Glasgow, UK david.conway@glasgow.ac.uk
Manchester: Gary J. Macfarlane  University of Aberdeen Dental School, Aberdeen, UK g.j.macfarlane@abdn.ac.uk
Newcastle: Peter Thomson University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong, China thomsonp@hku.hk
Barcelona: Antonio Agudo Institut Catala Oncologia, Barcelona, Spain a.agudo@iconcologia.net
Zagreb: Ariana Znaor International Agency for Research on Cancer, Lyon, France znaora@iarc.fr
24 Germany-Saarland Hermann Brenner Division of Clinical Epidemiology and Aging Research, German Cancer Research Center (DKFZ), Heidelberg, Germany; Division of Preventive Oncology, German Cancer Research Center (DKFZ) and National Center for Tumor Diseases (NCT), Heidelberg, Germany; German Cancer Consortium (DKTK), German Cancer Research Center (DKFZ), Heidelberg, Germany h.brenner@dkfz.de Saarland study: Ministry of Science, Research and Arts Baden-Wurttemberg
25 Germany-Heidelberg Heribert Ramroth Heidelberg Institute of Global Health, University of Heidelberg, Germany Heribert.Ramroth@uni-heidelberg.de Germany-Heidelberg study: grant No. 01GB9702/3 from the German Ministry of Education and Research
Volker Winkler Heidelberg Institute of Global Health, University of Heidelberg, Germany v.winkler@uni-heidelberg.de
27 North Carolina (2002-2006) Andrew F. Olshan University of North Carolina School of Public Health, Chapel Hill, NC, USA andy_olshan@unc.edu North Carolina (2002-2006): NCI R01CA90731-01 & NIEHS P30ES010126
Jose P. Zevallos Division of Head and Neck Surgical Oncology in the Department of Otolaryngology/Head and Neck Surgery at Washington University School of Medicine jpzevallos@wustl.edu
28 Paris
(1989-1991)
Daniele Luce Univ Rennes, INSERM, EHESP, Irset (Institut de recherche en sante, environnement et travail) - UMR_S 1085, Pointe-a-Pitre, France daniele.luce@inserm.fr NA
Gwenn Menvielle Univ Rennes, INSERM, EHESP, Irset (Institut de recherche en sante, environnement et travail) - UMR_S 1085, Pointe-a-Pitre, France gwenn.menvielle@inserm.fr
29 HOTSPOT Gypsyamber D'Souza Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Baltimore, MD, USA gdsouza@jhsph.edu HOTSPOT: Johns Hopkins Richard Gelb Cancer Prevention Award
Neil Gross Department of Head and Neck Surgery, Division of Surgery, The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, Houston, TX NGross@mdanderson.org
31 Buffalo Kirsten Moysich Roswell Park Cancer Institute, Buffalo, NY, USA Kirsten.Moysich@RoswellPark.org NA
32 Paris
 (2001-2007)
Daniele Luce Univ Rennes, INSERM, EHESP, Irset (Institut de recherche en sante, environnement et travail) - UMR_S 1085, Pointe-a-Pitre, France daniele.luce@inserm.fr France 2001-2007 (ICARE): French National Research Agency (ANR); French National Cancer Institute (INCA); French Agency for Food, Environmental and Occupational Health and Safety (ANSES); French Institute for Public Health Surveillance (InVS); Fondation pour la Recherche Medicale (FRM); Fondation de France; Fondation ARC pour la Recherche sur le Cancer; French Ministry of Labour (Direction Generale du Travail); French Ministry of Health (Direction Generale de la Sante).
Loredana Radoi INSERM UMR 1018, Centre for Research in Epidemiology and Population Health (CESP), Cancer Epidemiology, Genes and Environment Team, Villejuif, France loredana.radoi@inserm.fr
33 Baltimore Maura Gillison Thoracic/Head and Neck Medical Oncology, The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, Houston, TX, USA mgillison@mdanderson.org Baltimore study: NIH [DE016631]
34 Beijing Tongzhang Zheng Department of Epidemiology, Brown University School of Public Health, Providence, RI, USA tongzhang_zheng@brown.edu NA
35 Milan
(2006-2009)
Carlo La Vecchia Department of Clinical Sciences and Community Health, University of Milan, Italy carlo.lavecchia@unimi.it Milan study (2006-2009) Italian Association for Research on Cancer (AIRC) and Italian Ministry of Education (PRIN 2009 X8YCBN)
Werner Garavello Department of Otorhinolaryngology, School of Medicine and Surgery, University of Milano-Bicocca, Milan, Italy werner.garavello@unimib.it
36 East Asia Multicenter Mia Hashibe Division of Public Health, Department of Family & Preventive Medicine, University of Utah School of Medicine, and Huntsman Cancer Institute, Salt Lake City, Utah mia.hashibe@utah.edu the Department of Family and Preventive Medicine Health Studies Fund at the University of Utah. This investigation was also supported by the University of Utah Study Design and Biostatistics Center, with funding in part from the National Cancer Institute through Cancer Center Support P30 CA042014 awarded to Huntsman Cancer Institute, and the National Center for Research Resources and the National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences, National Institutes of Health, through Grant 8UL1TR000105 (formerly UL1RR025764)
Yuan-Chin Amy Lee Division of Public Health, Department of Family & Preventive Medicine, University of Utah School of Medicine, and Huntsman Cancer Institute, Salt Lake City, Utah amy.lee@utah.edu
98 India Manoj Mahimkar Cancer Research Institute. Advanced Center for Treatment Research Education in Cancer (ACTREC) mmahimkar@actrec.gov.in India study: Department of Biotechnology Government of India. The grant numbers are: (DBT Grant no: BT/ PR2277/ Med/09/ 333/ 2000 and BT/ PR6958/ MED/ 14/ 912/ 2005).
99 Northeast Philip Lazarus Washington State University College of Pharmacy, Spokane, WA, USA phil.lazarus@wsu.edu Northeast US study: NIH R01DE013158
Joshua Muscat Penn State College of Medicine, Hershey, PA, USA jmuscat@psu.edu
100 Pittsburgh Brenda Diergaarde University of Pittsburgh Cancer Institute, Pittsburgh, PA, USA diergaardeb@upmc.edu NA
104 Michigan Laura Rozek Georgetown University, Washington, D.C., USA lr898@georgetown.edu NA
Steve Chinn Environmental Health Sciences, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI, USA schinn@med.umich.edu
105 Toronto Rayjean Hung Lunenfeld-Tanenbaum Research Institute, Sinai Health System and University of Toronto rayjean.hung@lunenfeld.ca Princess Margaret: Princess Margaret Cancer Centre Head & Neck Translational Program, with philanthropic funds from the Wharton Family, Joe’s Team, and Gordon Tozer
Geoffrey Liu Princess Margaret Hospital University Health Network geoffrey.liu@uhn.on.ca
106 UK5000 Andy Ness Bristol Dental School, University of Bristol, UK Andy.Ness@bristol.ac.uk NA
Miranda Pring Bristol Dental School, University of Bristol, UK Miranda.Pring@bristol.ac.uk
Steve Thomas  Bristol Dental School, University of Bristol, UK Steve.Thomas@bristol.ac.uk
Tom Dudding Bristol Dental School, University of Bristol, UK tom.dudding@bristol.ac.uk

NA=not applicable