Skip to main content

David L. Kasdon

This and all Lende meetings since 1988 are dedicated to the memory of "Deel", whose untimely passing shocked all of us who were privileged to know and love him. The void, which we feel, cannot be filled, for he was so much a part of the vitality of this unique yearly gathering. His ability to enjoy life, to make work seem like play, is truly the spirit embodied in the Lende meeting.

2024 Kasdon Lecturer

Kevin T. Foley, MD


About Kevin T. Foley, MD

Kevin T. Foley, MD, is a professor of neurosurgery, orthopedic surgery, and biomedical engineering at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center in Memphis, Tennessee. He serves as chairman of Semmes Murphey Clinic, director of complex spine surgery at Semmes Murphey, director of the spine fellowship program for the University of Tennessee Department of Neurosurgery, and medical director for the Medical Education & Research Institute.

Dr. Foley received his doctor of medicine degree from the University of California, Los Angeles in 1979. After an internship at Letterman Army Medical Center in San Francisco, he returned to UCLA in 1980 to complete his neurosurgery residency.

Following his residency, Dr. Foley served in the United States Army Medical Corps as assistant chief of neurosurgery at Brooke Army Medical Center in San Antonio, Texas, chief of neurosurgery at Tripler Army Medical Center in Honolulu, Hawaii, and chief of neurosurgery as well as chairman of the neurosurgical residency program at Walter Reed Medical Center in Washington, D.C. In 1992, Dr. Foley left the military and joined the Semmes Murphey Clinic and the Department of Neurosurgery at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center. In addition to a full-time surgery practice, Dr. Foley is actively involved in research in minimally invasive spine surgery, disc regeneration, image-guided spinal surgery, robotics, spinal biomechanics, and neurosurgical outcomes.

Past Kasdon Lecturers


1988 Vinko V. Dolenc, MD, PhD 1989 Bennett M. Stein, MD
1990 John M. Jacobs, MD 1992 Madjid Samii, MD
1993 Rudolf Fahlbusch, MD 1994 Robert F. Spetzler, MD
1996 Axel Perneczky, MD 1997 Nicholoas de Tribolet, MD
1998 Bernard George, MD 1999 M. Peter Heilbrun, MD
2000 L. Nelson Hopkins, MD 2001 Peter W. Carmel, MD
2002 James T. Rutka, MD, PhD 2003 Steven L. Gionnatta, MD
2004 David G. Piepgras, MD 2005 Edward H. Oldfield, MD
2006 Volker K.H. Sonntag, MD 2007 Roy A. Patchell, MD
2007 Michael P. Powell, MD 2008 Warren R. Selman, MD
2009 Manfred Westphal, MD 2010 Ronald I. Apfelbaum, MD
2011 Ronald I. Apfelbaum, MD 2012 Fredric Meyer, MD
2013 Christopher Shaffrey, MD 2014 Roberto C. Heros, MD
2015 Takanori Fukushima, MD, DMSc 2016 Kim J. Burchiel, MD
2017 Robert H. Rosenwasser, MD 2018 James Markert, MD, MPH
2019 Michael M. Haglund, MD, PhD 2020 Jaimie Henderson, MD
2023 Bob Carter, MD, PhD    

Contact Us

Meeting Coordinator

Lanette Dunbar
Phone: 801-556-2539
Fax: 801-581-4385

Health Science Center
Bldg 550, 5th Floor
175 N. Medical Drive East
Salt Lake City, UT 84132