Pathology Faculty Awards

Every year, the Department of Pathology recognizes three faculty members for exceptional contributions in the areas of anatomic pathology, clinical pathology, and experimental pathology.

The awards are named in memory of three of our most beloved and respected former colleagues: Joseph Holden, MD, William Roberts, PhD, and John Weis, PhD, each of whom now remain with us through the impact they had on our lives.

In 2020, the Department of Pathology introduced a fourth award recognizing exceptional contributions in the area of education. This new award is named in honor of Joseph Knight, MD.

Dr. Knight, a 1963 graduate of the University of Utah School of Medicine was also a resident in the Pathology program in the 1960s. He held many different leadership positions as a faculty member in the department, pioneering regional laboratory outreach efforts prior to the establishment of ARUP. He was also instrumental in the founding of ARUP. Dr. Knight assumed the role of Division Chief of the former Pathology Education Division in 1986 and later become co-director of the Medical Laboratory Sciences program and head of what is now known as the Medical Laboratory Sciences Division. After his retirement in 2010, Dr. Knight held the rank of Emeritus Professor and continued to come to work daily until the end of 2019.

2020 Pathology Award Recipients

Joseph A. Knight Award for Excellence in Education: Angelica Putnam, MD
Joe Holden Award for Excellence in Anatomic Pathology: Kajsa Affolter, MD
Bill Roberts Award for Excellence in Laboratory Medicine: David Hillyard, MD
John Weis Award for Excellence in Experimental Pathology: Bob Fujinami, PhD