Andrew Jones, Class of 2024
Tyler Smith, Class of 2024

Idaho Residents

The University of Utah School of Medicine has a contract with the State of Idaho that ensures 10 Idaho residents are accepted to the School of Medicine each year.

In order to qualify for one of the 10 designated seats, Idaho residents must complete Idaho State Certification. Upon acceptance, certified Idaho students will pay in-state Utah tuition, with the state of Idaho providing funding for the difference between in-state and out-of-state costs.

Per the state of Idaho, students recieving state funds are also required to pay a surcharge to the Rural Physician Incentive Program (RPIP), a program administered by the state of Idaho designed to assist in loan repayment for graduates who return to practice in Idaho.

Applicants who are Idaho residents and do not complete state certification will be not be considered for one of the 10 Idaho seats, and instead will be considered as part of the general non-resident applicant pool.





Emily O'Connor
Admissions Coordinator 

Laura Herring
RUUTE Program Coordinator -
Idaho & Regional Affairs 

University of Utah School of Medicine
Eccles Health Sciences Education
Building - Suite 5900
26 South 2000 East
Salt Lake City, UT 84112