Skip to main content


The section of Critical Care Medicine in the University of Utah’s Department of Anesthesiology is proud to offer a one-year ACGME accredited Anesthesiology Critical Care Medicine (CCM) Fellowship.  We are excited to announce the addition of a two-year ACGME accredited CCM Fellowship for emergency medicine trained physicians.  We currently offer up to two ACGME accredited positions per year.   This comprehensive and multidisciplinary fellowship program prepares physicians to become leaders in the field of critical care medicine.  The fellowship culminates in board eligibility for Anesthesiology Critical Care Medicine through the American Board of Anesthesiology.

Our anesthesiologist intensivists provide care across a variety of specialty ICUs at the University of Utah and affiliated hospitals including the Surgical ICU (SICU), Cardiovascular ICU (CVICU), Neuro Critical Care Unit (NCC), Huntsman Cancer Institute ICU (HICU), and the George Wahlen Salt Lake City Veterans Affairs Medical Center Surgical ICU (VA SICU).

Our section includes nine fellowship-trained, American Board of Anesthesiology certified critical care specialists who care for complex, critically-ill patients in conjunction with a multidisciplinary team of providers from general surgery, cardiothoracic surgery, emergency medicine, pulmonology, neurosurgery, and neurology.

For more information regarding the Critical Care section of the Department of Anesthesiology at the University of Utah please visit our Critical Care website

Dual 2-year combined Critical Care Medicine (CCM) and Adult Cardiothoracic Anesthesiology (ACTA) Fellowships:  This fellowship track involves two years of training after completing your CA3 year at an approved ACGME anesthesia residency program. Both ACGME CCM and ACGME ACTA fellowships are completed over a two-year consecutive time frame. Individuals interested in this dual fellowship training will apply to the ACTA fellowship program and declare their interest at that time. If successfully matched to our program, the ACTA fellowship will be completed in its entirety during the first of the two years, and the CCM fellowship will be completed in the second year. 

How to Apply

We are accepting both anesthesiology and emergency trained physicians.

Applicants for the Anesthesiology Critical Care Medicine (CCM) Fellowship positions should apply through the San Francisco Match (SF Match).  The Anesthesiology CCM fellowship is sponsored by the Society of Critical Care Anesthesiologist (SOCCA).

Please see the following website for additional information

The University of Utah’s Anesthesiology CCM Fellowship requires the following in order for applicant consideration:

Completion of the San Francisco (SF) Match Common Application Service (CAS) application process:

SF Match CAS Requirements

Complete and submit the CAS application form via the online portal

Three letters of recommendation (LOR)

  • 1 letter should be from residency PD or chair
  • Others should be from physicians who have directly worked with you clinically in the field of intensive care (preferably) 

Applicant should also submit the following:

  • Personal statement
  • Curriculum Vitae (CV)
  • USMLE transcript
  • Medical school transcript
  • MSPE
  • Exam Results (Basic Exam Results, AKTs and ITEs if available)


After all required documents are received the application will be considered complete.  The application will then be reviewed by our selection committee and selected individuals will be invited for a formal interview.  The University of Utah Department of Anesthesiology is a participant in the National Resident Matching Program (NRMP). 


Important Upcoming Dates

  • Applicant Registration Begins: November 1, 2022
  • CAS Target Date – February 1, 2023
  • Interviews Offered – Spring 2023
  • Match Deadline – May 16, 2023
  • Match Results – May 30, 2023
  • Fellowship Training begins – July 2024

Fellowship Director

Stephen H. Sams, MD

View Full Profile

Associate Program Director

Matthew J. Griffee, MD

View Full Profile

Critical Care Director

Sean D. Overton, MD

View Full Profile


David P. Dorsey, MD

View Full Profile

Joseph R. Guenzer, MD

View Full Profile

Bryce B. Hill, MD, MPH

View Full Profile

Lauren E. Knecht, MD

View Full Profile

Jane Leavy, MD

View Full Profile

Peter Liu, MD

View Full Profile

Caroline M. Ruminski, MD

View Full Profile

Andrew V. Scott, MD

View Full Profile

John Skaggs, MD

View Full Profile