Skip to main content


The Reed M. Gardner Award for Faculty Excellence was established in 2005 to acknowledge the contributions of faculty members to the Department of Biomedical Informatics and College of Nursing Informatics. The award was created by students to acknowledge the achievements of faculty members in the areas of teaching, mentoring, and service. The award is given annually after a competitive nomination and decision process supervised by a committee of students. 

Reed M. Gardner, PhD

Dr. Gardner was one of the principal developers and evaluators of the medical expert system known as HELP (Health Evaluation through Logical Processing). He previously served as a co-director of medical computing at LDS, Cottonwood, and Alta View Hospitals in Salt Lake City, Utah.

Reed Gardner

Dr. Gardner received a Bachelor of Science degree in electrical engineering from the University of Utah in 1960. In 1968, he received a PhD in Biophysics and Bioengineering from the University of Utah. Dr. Gardner’s primary academic and research interests are in hospital informatics systems, computerized medical decision-making, computerization of critical care, automation of nursing processes, medical informatics education, and public health informatics.

He authored or co-authored more than 350 articles in the fields of Medical Informatics and Bioengineering. Dr. Gardner served on the editorial board of Methods of Information in Medicine and was a journal editor and on editorial boards of Critical Care Medicine and other critical care journals, as well as the Journal of American Medical Informatics Association (JAMIA). He also served as editor-in-chief of International Journal of Clinical Monitoring and Computing. Dr. Gardner was a Fellow of the American College of Medical Informatics. He is a past president and served on the board of directors of the American Medical Informatics Association.

Dr. Gardner passed away the end of 2020, but his legacy and impact of the nation’s first department of biomedical informatics and innovations in the field will continue to live on. 

past recipients

2023 - Carolyn Scheese, DNP, RN

2022 - Guilherme Del Fiol, MD, PhD

2021 - Catherine J. Staes, BSN, MPH, PhD

2020 - Damian Borbolla, MD, MS

2019 - Julio Facelli, PhD

2018 - Ram Gouripeddi, MS, MBBS


2017 - Katherine Sward, PhD, RN

2016 - Charlene R. Weir, PhD

2015 - Guilherme Del Fiol, MD, PhD

2014 - Karen Eilbeck, PhD

2013 - Catherine J. Staes, PhD

2012 - Julio Facelli, PhD


2011 - Scott Narus, PhD

2010 - Nancy Staggers, PhD, RN, FAAN

2009 - Lewis Frey, PhD

2008 - Nicola J. Camp, PhD

2007 - John Hurdle, MD, PhD

2006 - Roberto Rocha, PhD


Ways to Give

You can help the Department of Biomedical Informatics continue to progress with even a small contribution.

Learn More