Skip to main content

Administrative Staff

Name & Responsibility Email Phone

Neha Kushan
Operations Manager

Neha Kushan

Neha oversees department operations, develops the department's annual budget, manages sponsored projects, and directs the Faculty Review and Advancement process. She oversees faculty and staff recruitment and retention.

neha.kushan@neuro.utah.edu 801-581-5494

Emily Harris
Project Coordinator

Emily Harris

Emily coordinates the Neurobiology Graduate program and assists with stipends/traineeships, tuition and fees, class registration, permission codes, health/dental/vision insurance, and student files and records. She organizes the Research in Progress (RIP) schedule, department events, and seminar series and provides administrative support for the department as needed.

emily.harris@utah.edu 801-581-3653

Alyssa Carlos
Accountant

Alyssa Carlos

Alyssa provides financial and administrative support. She assists with new hires (onboarding, building access), I-9, updates work authorizations, and assists with visa applications, and offboarding. She is the department's payroll reporter and assists with KRONOS and all payroll-related queries. Approves all Ushop/FMS orders, provides/maintains sienna access, requests GFA approval for new projects and activities, and submits cores work authorization forms. Processes all reimbursement requests including travel expense reports, Fellowship/Traineeship setups, cost transfers, journal entries and reviews/approves financial documents for the department. She is the inventory controller for the Department.

alyssa.carlos@neuro.utah.edu 801-581-6045

Lisa Shen
Administrative Officer

Lisa Shen

Lisa provides post-award support for the department including a monthly review of all account spending and reporting to ensure compliance. She serves as a liaison with the Office of Sponsored Projects.  Assists faculty with post-award reporting and analysis, develops spending plans, prepares accounts for closeout, and provides a range of other financial support as needed.  She is equipped to serve as backup for purchasing, HR, payroll, and travel as needed.

lisa.shen@neuro.utah.edu 801-213-7200

Andrew Jeffries
Assistant Buyer

Andrew Jeffries

Andrew manages the purchasing for the department. He assists with invoice payments, OCM orders, General and Campus Stores purchasing, assists with complex equipment purchases, and independent contractor agreements in accordance with University, State, and federal procurement guidelines. He is responsible for maintaining department inventory.

andrew.jeffries@neuro.utah.edu

801-213-1503

Paul Jeffries
IT - Systems/Network Administrator

Paul Jeffries

Neurobiology Department IT supports hardware systems including desktops, laptops, data storage, and printer hardware.  Also, IT maintains network access and internet connectivity via UIT and HSC/ITS routes directly or through VPN.  Hardware security implementation and support follow campus best practice guidelines as much as possible.  Operating systems, software programs, and protocol installation, configuration, update, and support are directed by NeuroIT. System purchasing, inventory, and retirement are done in conjunction with department purchasing and accounting people.

paul@neuro.utah.edu 801-585-7164

Body Donor Staff

Name & Responsibility Email Phone
Kerry Peterson
Manager, Body Donor Program
kerry@neuro.utah.edu 801-581-7499
Wayne Woodward
Assistant Manager, Body Donor Program
wayne@neuro.utah.edu 801-581-6645
Heath Holverson
Assistant Manager, Body Donor Program
heath@neuro.utah.edu 801-585-9356

Associate Staff

Name & Responsibility Email Phone
Nicole Caldwell
Neuroscience Graduate Program Coordinator
nicole@neuro.utah.edu 801-581-4820