Skip to main content

To submit a proposal to the Curriculum Committee, please use this template and send it to Brian Good (CC Chair) at, Kerri Shaffer (Curriculum Director) at, or Thomas Jordan (Project Coordinator) at


The Curriculum Committee (CC) was created in 2008 to put the ideas generated by the Curriculum Transformation Committee into practice. As of January 2016, the CC consists of:

  • The Chair
  • Course Directors: Year 1, Year 2, Year 3, and Year 4
  • Core Educators: Foundational Science Domain Expert, Clinical Domain Expert, Health Systems Science Domain Expert, Pathway/Research/IPE Lead, LOM faculty representation, CMC faculty representation, CBL faculty representation
  • General Faculty 
  • Ex Officio
  • Student Representatives: 2 from each class (MS1, MS2, MS3, and MS4)

The Curriculum Committee (CC) holds sole authority and responsibility for creating, overseeing and managing the medical student education program, and ensuring compliance with all LCME accreditation standards. The Committee defines objectives and competencies, determines curricular content, pedagogy and methods of teaching, reviews feedback and recommendations, and utilizes information to improve the curriculum. Committee membership comprises basic science and clinical teaching faculty, evaluation and assessment experts and students, who are invited to participate in discussions about curricular issues. Due to the significant time commitments this Committee demands of its members, student attendance requirements are modified to accommodate their educational commitments. 



Subcommittees that report to the Curriculum Committee welcome student participation and input.

Phase 1-2 Subcommittee: The authority and responsibility for the administration of the pre-clerkship curriculum as approved by the CC.

Phase 3 Subcommittee: Oversees developments and implementation of the Phase 3 curriculum including clinical clerkships. Includes oversight of curriculum content, integration of core curricular elements, instructional methods, student assessments, faculty development, and curriculum delivery.

Phase 4 Subcommittee: Adheres to the same responsibility and authority as Phase 3 subcommittee, but specifically for Phase 4.

Curriculum Evaluation Subcommittee (CESC): The authority and responsibility for quality control and improvement of the curriculum, through careful monitoring of program evaluation data and regularly schedules reviews of courses, clerkships, and other required experiences in the medical school education program.

Education and Technology: Evaluates and recommends technologies that impact teaching and learning at UUSOM.

Student Representatives of Curriculum Committee

Todd Brown, MS1

Jessica Kunzman, MS1

Steve Cho, MS2

Sarmishta Kannan, MS2

Kurt Linderman, MS3

Anurag Tripathy, MS3

Daniel Brandley, MS4

Trent Parry, MS4

LOA Dual Degree

Jenna Weber, MD-PhD

Student Representatives of Phase 1 and 2 Subcommittee

Chieko Hoki, MS1

Jacoby Bryce, MS1

Koko Novak, MS2

Haley Reynolds, MS2

Ha Le, MS3

Madison Baglyey, MS3

Mercedes Robinson, MS4

Isabella McNamara, MS4

Student Representatives of Phase 3 Subcommittee

John Anderson, MS3

Walid Salah, MS3

Kellyn Maves, MS4

Federicha Brecha, MS4

Student Representatives of Phase 4 Subcommittee

John James, MS4

Sarah Hourston, MS4

Student Representatives of Curriculum Evaluation Subcommittee (CESC)

Jarom Gropp, MS3

Taylie Sargent, MS3

Michael Angerbauer, MS4

Adam Kessel, MS4

Student Representatives of Education and Technology Subcommittee

Zachary Hansen, MS2

Alex Tran, MS4


For any further questions please contact:

Kerri Shaffer, MEd, MLIS
Director of Curriculum and Faculty Support