Skip to main content

Program Committee

This year’s program committee has done an exceptional job in meeting its charge to develop and design an ADDICTIONS UPDATE program targeted to professionals from many disciplines who are dedicated to serving those facing addiction issues. They dedicated many hours to reviewing literature, professional practices, surveys, needs assessments, service gap issues, and organizational and professional input – including suggestions from last year’s attendees. Based upon this data and hours of discussions, they have designed an outstanding program that provides tools and information each attendee can incorporate into practice(s) to enhance the quality of care provided. Thanks and kudos go to each of these dedicated program committee members!

Committee Members

Kimberlee Bayless, DNP, FNP-BC

Director, Transitional Pain Service, Acute Pain Service, VA Medical Center Department Anesthesia

**Speaker on neuromodulation for Medtronic

Pricilla Blosser, RN, BSN

Senior Clinical Research Coordinator, PARCKA / GIN

Melissa Cheng, MD, MOH, MHS, FACOEM

Associate Professor of Occupational Medicine, University of Utah

Clinical Medical Director, Comagine Health

Amy de la Garza, MD

Clinician, Novamind/Numinous

President, ASAM - Utah Chapter

Steve Godin, MS, PhD, MPH

Professor of Public Health, University of Utah Department of Family & Preventive Medicine

Elizabeth F. Howell, MD, DLFAPA, DFASAM

Professor of Psychiatry & Addiction Psychiatry Training Director, University of Utah School of Medicine

Clinician, Huntsman Mental Health Institute

**CME Course Director

Michael Incze, MD, MSEd

Assistant Professor, University of Utah General Internal Medicine & Addiction Medicine

Tia D. Korologos, BSN, RN

President, ESI Management Group

**Project Developers & Coordinators

Shanel Long, BS, SUDC

Adult Treatment Program Administrator III, Utah Office of Substance Use & Mental Health

Larry Marx, MPA

Healthcare Licensing Bureau Manager, Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing

Michael Moss, MD

Medical Director. Utah Poison Control Center

Steven Gregory Sugden, MD, MPH

Assistant Professor & Associate Director for Addiction Medicine/Addiction Psychiatry Fellowship, University of Utah

Casey R. Tak, PhD, MPH

Assistant Professor, University of Utah College of Pharmacy

**Consultant on digital therapeutics for Twill, Inc.

Billi Tsuya, MSHS, DMSc/PA-C

OP Psych & EPI Research, University of Utah

Program Contributors

Addiction Medicine Fellows & Residents

University of Utah

Brett S. Bartruff, DSW, LCSW

Director, Substance Use Treatment & Recovery Services, Davis Behavioral Health

David Sandweiss, MD

Director, Tribal, Rural, & Underserved Medical Education

Director, Department of Pediatric Rural & American Indian Outreach

Associate Professor, University of Utah Division of Pediatric Emergency Medicine

**All committee members were asked to sign a formal disclosure and any disclosures made are noted. No disclosures related to potential conflicts of interests arising from financial relationships with ineligible companies within the last 24 months have been disclosed by any committee member. An ineligible company is defined as any entity producing, marketing, selling, re-selling, or distributing healthcare products used by or on patients. (Providers of clinical services direct to patients are not considered ineligible companies unless the provider is owned or controlled by an ineligible company.)

Questions about the conference?

Call ESI Management Group at 801-501-9446 or


Department of Psychiatry and Huntsman Mental Health Institute

Visit HMHI's website


Utah Office of Substance Use and Mental Health (SUMH) 

Access SUMH's Demographic and Treatment Data Specs

Visit SUMH's website


Utah Division of Professional Licensing (DOPL)

Visit DOPL's website


ESI Management Group

Visit ESI's website