Skip to main content

Congratulations to the Winners of the DBMI Reed M. Gardner Award for Faculty Excellence

We’re proud to announce the winners of the Reed M. Gardner Award for Faculty Excellence for 2020 and 2021. This award was created by the students in the Departments of Biomedical Informatics and Nursing Informatics to acknowledge the achievements of faculty members in the areas of teaching, mentoring, and service to the departments and is a competitive nomination and decision process.

We are pleased to acknowledge Catherine Staes as the winner for 2021. As she stated when told, “I really value my role as an educator and want to build up the next generation.” She is a valued member of our education team!

In addition, our last year’s winner for 2020 is Damian Borbolla. Unfortunately, the pandemic hit at just the time when the students voted on the winner and somehow this wasn’t announced nor awarded to Dr. Borbolla. Dr. Borbolla is another very valued member of our faculty (he is currently the Director of the Master Progra­­­­m). When he was told that he received this award, his response was, “this is a great honor, the best award I received in my professional career.”

Congratulations to Drs. Staes and Borbolla. They represent our faculty well!