Skip to main content

Brent C. James, M.D. Distinguished Alumni - U of U School of Medicine

Apr 17, 2014

Brent C. James, M.D., M.Stat., Chief Quality Officer, Executive Director Institute for Health Care Delivery Research, Intermountain Healthcare.

Dr. Brent James is known internationally for his work in clinical quality improvement, patient safety, and the infrastructure that underlies successful improvement efforts, such as culture change, data systems, payment methods, and management roles. He is a member of the National Academy of Science’s Institute of Medicine (and participated in many of that organization’s seminal works on quality and patient safety).

He is a Fellow of the American College of Physician Executives.

He holds faculty appointments at:

  • University of Utah School of Medicine (Family Medicine; and Biomedical Informatics),
  • Harvard School of Public Health (Health Policy and Management), and the
  • University of Sydney, Australia, School of Public Health

He is Chief Quality Officer, and Executive Director, Institute for Health Care Delivery Research at

Intermountain Healthcare, based in Salt Lake City, Utah. (Intermountain is an integrated system of 22 hospitals, almost 200 clinics, a 1000+ member physician group, and an HMO/PPO insurance plan jointly responsible for more than 550,000 covered lives serving patients in Utah, Idaho, and, at a tertiary level, seven surrounding States).

Through the Intermountain Advanced Training Program in Clinical Practice Improvement (ATP), he has trained more than 5,000 senior physician, nursing, and administrative executives, drawn from around the world, in clinical management methods, with proven improvement results (and over 50 “daughter” training programs in 9 countries)

He has been honored with a series of awards for quality in health care delivery, including (among many):

  • Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences, 29th Annual David Packard Award, 2014
  • Deming Cup – Columbia University School of Business, 2011
  • C. Jackson Grayson Medal, Distinguished Quality Pioneer – American Quality and Productivity Center, 2010
  • Joint Commission Earnest A. Codman Award, 2006

AHA HRET TRUST Award, 2005

National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA) Quality Award, 2005

For 8 of the 9 years it has been in existence, he has been named among Modern Physician’s “50 Most Influential Physician Executives in Healthcare.” He has been named among the “100 Most Powerful People in Healthcare” (Modern Healthcare) for over 5 years, and Modern Healthcare’s “25 Top Clinical Informaticists”.