Adjunct

Donald K. Blumenthal, PhD

Email: don.blumenthal@pharm.utah.edu

Phone: 801-585-3094

Watson A. Bowes, III, MD

Specialties: Anesthesiology

Email: len.bowes@imail.org

Benjamin S. Brooke, MD, PhD, FACS, FSVS

Chief, Division of Vascular Surgery, Department of Surgery

Dr. Brooke is an Associate Professor of Surgery, Bioinformatics (adjunct), and Population Health Sciences (adjunct).  He is the Chief of Vascular Surgery at the University of Utah, as well as leads surgical health services research efforts at the University Of Utah Department Of Surgery and the VA Salt Lake City Health Care System.  Curre... Read More

Specialties: Vascular Surgery

Email: benjamin.brooke@hsc.utah.edu

Phone: 801-581-3495

Nicola J. Camp, PhD

Nicola J. Camp, PhD, is a professor in the Departments of Medicine (Division of  Hematology and Hematologic Malignancies) and Human Genetics at the University of Utah School of Medicine. She is a Huntsman Cancer Institute investigator, and a member of the Cancer Control and Population Sciences program. As a genetic epidemiologist/statistical g... Read More

Email: nicola.camp@utah.edu

Phone: 801-213-5767

Brian E. Chapman, PhD

Email: Brian.Chapman@utah.edu

Hilary Coon, PhD

Email: Hilary.Coon@hsc.utah.edu

Mollie R. Cummins, PhD, RN, FAAN

Dr. Cummins is a health informaticist and faculty member in the informatics programs of both the College of Nursing and School of Medicine. She holds a PhD in nursing science and information science from Indiana University. In 2007, she studied methods of complexity science including agent-based modeling and network analysis at the Santa Fe Institu... Read More

Specialties: Medical Informatics

Email: mollie.cummins@utah.edu

Phone: 801-585-9740

J. Michael Dean, MD, MBA

Chief, Division of Pediatric Critical Care, Vice-Chair, Research, Vice-Chairman for Finance, Department of Pediatrics

Dr. Dean is Professor and Vice Chairman for Research in the Department of Pediatrics at the University of Utah School of Medicine. He directs the Clinical Trials Office in the Department, and serves as the Associate Dean for Clinical Research at University of Utah Health.  He attended Northwestern University Medical School (1977) and performed... Read More

Specialties: Pediatric Critical Care

Email: mike.dean@hsc.utah.edu

Phone: 801-587-7572

Frank Drews, PhD

Email: drews@psych.utah.edu

Phone: 801-585-1977

Jeffrey D. Duncan, PhD

Email: jeff.duncan@utah.edu

Marlene J. Egger, PhD

 I am a PhD credentialed biostatistician with additional training in clinical quality improvement, health services research, and qualitative and mixed methods (QUAL/QUAN) research. Accomplishments as Professor of Family and Preventive Medicine, include 40 years’ experience in curriculum development, faculty mentorship, and... Read More

Email: marlene.egger@hsc.utah.edu

Phone: 801-587-3335

Jeffrey P. Ferraro, PhD

Test... Read More

Email: jeffrey.ferraro@imail.org

Andrew J. Gawron, MD, PhD

Dr. Andrew Gawron is an Assistant Professor at the University of Utah and VA Medical Center. His clinical interests include treating patients with esophageal disease (gastroesophageal reflux disease, motility disorders such as achalasia, and eosinophilic esophagitis). He performs colonoscopy, upper endoscopy and interprets esophageal motility and p... Read More

Specialties: Endoscopy, Eosinophilic Esophagitis, Esophageal Diseases, Esophageal Motility Disorders, Gastroenterology, Gastroesophageal Reflux Disease (GERD)

Email: andrew.gawron@hsc.utah.edu

Phone: 801-581-7803

Per H. Gesteland, MD, MSc

Dr. Gesteland is an Associate Professor of Pediatrics and Adjunct Associate Professor of Biomedical Informatics at the University of Utah School of Medicine. Dr. Gesteland completed a combined Internal Medicine and Pediatrics Residency then went on to get a Masters of Science in Biomedical Informatics. He is a practicing clinician working... Read More

Specialties: Pediatric Inpatient Medicine

Email: per.gesteland@hsc.utah.edu

Phone: 801-662-3667

Patricia Guenther, PhD, RD

Email: Patricia.Guenther@utah.edu

Phone: 801-581-6730

Adi V. Gundlapalli, MD, PhD

Adi V. Gundlapalli, MD, PhD, MS is a Professor with Tenure in the Department of Internal Medicine at the University of Utah School of Medicine. He holds adjunct faculty appointments in the Departments of Pathology and Biomedical Informatics. His research interests include post-deployment health of Veterans with a special focus on Veteran homelessne... Read More

Specialties: Clinical Immunology/Immunodeficiency, Infectious Diseases, Medical Informatics

Email: adi.gundlapalli@hsc.utah.edu

Phone: 801-585-7500

Jia-Wen Guo, PhD, RN

Specialties: Nursing Informatics, Oncology Nursing

Email: Jia-Wen.Guo@nurs.utah.edu

Marta E. Heilbrun, MD

Marta Heilbrun, MD, is an associate professor in the Department of Radiology at the University of Utah and a member of the Experimental Therapeutics Program. She is the Program Director for the Diagnostic Radiology Residency. Her clinical expertise is in abdominal imaging with an emphasis in imaging the genitourinary tract. Her research is in iden... Read More

Specialties: Body Imaging, Computed Tomography - CT, GYN Imaging, Magnetic Resonance Imaging - MRI, Radiology, Ultrasound, X-Ray

Email: marta.heilbrun@hsc.utah.edu

Phone: 801-581-7553

John R. Holmen, PhD

Email: john.holmen@imail.org

Susan D. Horn, PhD

Email: susan.horn@hsc.utah.edu

Benjamin D. Horne, MPH, PhD

Email: benjamin.horne@utah.edu

Nathan C. Hulse, PhD

As the director of the clinical knowledge management development team at Intermountain Healthcare, I manage a team of software developers who build and maintain our enterprise clinical knowledge repository. I have relevant experience in clinical knowledge management, enterprise data warehousing, and relevant healthcare data exchange standards. I ha... Read More

Specialties: Biomedical Informatics, Medical Informatics

Email: nathan.hulse@imail.org

Phone: 801-507-9252

Brian R. Jackson, MD

Dr. Jackson received his BA in mathematics, his MS in medical informatics, and his MD from the University of Utah, and completed a clinical pathology residency at Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center. Prior to his employment at ARUP, Dr. Jackson was a staff clinical pathologist and informaticist at Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center, a product manage... Read More

Specialties: Pathology, Clinical

Email: brian.jackson@aruplab.com

Phone: 801-583-2787-Ext-3191

Lee Min Lau, PhD

Email: leeminlau@mmm.com

Phone: 801-265-4676

Jaehoon Lee, PhD

Email: jaehoon.lee@utah.edu

Phone: 801-507-9218

Michael J. Lincoln, MD

Chief, Program, Interagency Data Interoperability workstream

Specialties: Internal Medicine, General

Email: michael.lincoln@va.gov

Phone: 801-588-5032

Gang Luo, PhD

Dr. Gang Luo earned his PhD degree in Computer Science with a minor in Mathematics from the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Dr. Luo is an assistant professor in the University of Utah’s Department of Biomedical Informatics. Dr. Luo's research interests include health/clinical informatics (software system design/development and data analytics), bi... Read More

Specialties: Medical Informatics

Email: gang.luo@utah.edu

Phone: 801-213-3565

Stephane M. Meystre, MD, PhD, MS

Dr. Stephane M. Meystre earned his PhD in Medical Informatics from the University of Utah, his MD from the University of Lausanne, Switzerland, and his MS in Medical Informatics from the University of California, Davis. He is a Research Assistant Professor in the University of Utah’s Department of Biomedical Informatics. His expertise in... Read More

Email: stephane.meystre@hsc.utah.edu

Lab: Lab Website

Matthew B. Morgan, MD, MS

Chief, Imaging Informatics, Department of Radiology

Matthew Morgan received his Bachelors of Science in Management Information Systems from Brigham Young University followed by a Masters in Medical Informatics and Doctor of Medicine from the University of Utah. Dr. Morgan completed internship at Sacred Heart Medical Center in Spokane, WA, followed by a fellowship in radiology informatics at Univers... Read More

Specialties: Breast Imaging, Computed Tomography - CT, Magnetic Resonance Imaging - MRI, Mammography, Radiology, Tomosynthesis, Ultrasound, X-Ray

Email: matt.morgan@hsc.utah.edu

Phone:

Alan H. Morris, MD

Specialties: Pulmonary

Email: alan.morris@imail.org

Phone: 801-507-4696

Danielle Mowery, PhD

Email: danielle.mowery@utah.edu

Phone: 801-581-4080

Flory Nkoy, MD, MS, MPH

Dr. Nkoy is an Associate Research Professor at the University of Utah, Department of Pediatrics and an Adjunct Associate Professor in the Department of Biomedical Informatics. He also serves as the Research Director for the Division of Pediatric Inpatient Medicine. His research interest focuses on the care of patients with asthma. In addition to cl... Read More

Email: flory.nkoy@hsc.utah.edu

Phone: 801-662-3660

Ernest Charles (Chuck) Norlin, MD

Chuck Norlin is a general pediatrician, Professor of Pediatrics, and Adjunct Professor of Biomedical Informatics at the University of Utah School of Medicine. He practiced general pediatrics in Salt Lake City for 10 years before joining the faculty in 1990 and continued practice at the University Pediatric Clinic through 2015. He served as the gene... Read More

Specialties: General Pediatrics

Email: chuck.norlin@hsc.utah.edu

Phone: 801-585-9945

Stephen R. Piccolo, PhD

Email: stephen.piccolo@hsc.utah.edu

Robert T. Rolfs, MD

Email: u0320150@utah.edu

Phone: 801-538-6386

Kerry G. Rowe, PhD

Email: kerry.rowe@imail.org

Phone: 801-442-6765

Matthew H. Samore, MD

Chief, Division of Epidemiology

Matthew Samore, MD is the Principal Investigator of both the Salt Lake VA Informatics Decision Enhancement and Surveillance (IDEAS) Center and the VA Consortium for Healthcare Informatics Research. He is a Professor of Medicine, Adjunct Professor of Biomedical Informatics, and Division Chief of Epidemiology at the University of Utah.Dr. Samore atte... Read More

Specialties: Epidemiology/Nosocomial Infections, Infectious Diseases

Email: matthew.samore@hsc.utah.edu

Phone: 801-213-3690

Brian C. Sauer, PhD, MS

My research interests include pharmacoepidemiology, comparative effectiveness research, medical informatics, and causal inference. My goals are to develop new knowledge and methods that improve the research process and realize them in applied research. We are accomplishing this by improving our theoretical understanding of research and causal infe... Read More

Specialties: Epidemiology

Email: brian.sauer@hsc.utah.edu

Phone: 801-755-1955

Shaun C. Shakib, PhD, MPH

Email: Shaun.Shakib@m.cc.utah.edu

Ken R. Smith, PhD

Ken Smith, PhD, is an investigator at Huntsman Cancer Institute (HCI), a professor in the Department of Family and Consumer Studies at the University of Utah, and a member of the Cancer Control and Population Sciences Program.As a family demographer and medical sociologist, Smith's research has focused on suspected psychosocial consequences of gene... Read More

Email: ken.smith@fcs.utah.edu

Phone: 801-581-7847

Nancy Staggers, RN, PhD, FAAN

Email: nancy.staggers@chw.edu

Phone: 801-699-0112

Katherine A. Sward, PhD, RN

Specialties: Biomedical Informatics, Medical Informatics, Nursing Informatics

Email: kathy.sward@nurs.utah.edu

Phone: 801-585-1481

Sidney N. Thornton, PhD

Email: sid.thornton@imail.org

Phone: 801-442-6736

Iona M. Thraen, PhD

Email: i.thraen@utah.edu

James A. VanDerslice, PhD

Interim Chief, Division of Public Health

Jim VanDerslice, PhD is an Associate Professor in the Division of Public Health. His research focuses on evaluating human exposures to chemical and microbiological hazards in the environment. Several of his studies have examined contaminants in drinking water and foods, and their effects on infants and children. He utilizes Geographic Information S... Read More

Specialties: Epidemiology

Email: jim.vanderslice@utah.edu

Sumithra Velupillai, PhD

Email: sumithra.velupillai@utah.edu

Mark Yandell, PhD

Email: myandell@genetics.utah.edu

Phone: 801-581-4422

Qing T. Zeng, PhD

Qing T. Zeng earned her PhD degree in Medical Informatics from Columbia University. She is a Professor in the University of Utah’s Department of Biomedical Informatics, and an IDEA Center Principal Investigator at the University of Utah and the VA Hospital. Her expertise is in clinical and consumer health information extraction, analysis, and pres... Read More

Specialties: Biomedical Informatics

Email: q.t.zeng@utah.edu

Phone: 801-213-3357