Skip to main content

Dr. Rashmee Shah receives the 2020 Women as One Escalator Award

shah-_headshot_2018.jpgThe Department of Internal Medicine and the Division of Cardiovascular Medicine are excited to announce Dr. Rashmee Shah as a recipient of the 2020 Women as One’s Escalator Awards. 

Women as One was founded in 2018 by Roxana Mehran, MD and Marie-Claude Morice, MD to broaden and promote the global talent pool in medicine by providing unique professional opportunities to female physicians. Central to this goal is the Women as One Talent Directory, which allows women in medicine from around the world to set up a professional profile that includes details about their experience, interests and demographics.  This information is then used to increase visibility and match skills with opportunity.

The Women as One Escalator Awards program is a year-long award aimed at quickly and effectively catalyzing the careers of qualified women in cardiology by providing clinical and leadership skills training, research support, speaking opportunities and a cadre of key professional contacts with which to further develop their professional interests. Winners also receive a $50,000 award donation. The award review panel was made up of 8 senior physicians from Africa, Asia, Europe, North and South America. A total of only 5 winners were selected out of 70 global applicants. 

After selecting the winners, Women as One co-founder Roxana Mehran, MD stated, “We were and continue to be amazed by the incredible talent of women in cardiology around the world, and are truly humbled by the interest in this award. To us it signified a huge global need for training, mentorship and substantial opportunities for women in cardiology and we are now more motivated than ever to see these opportunities become realities.” 

Congratulations to Dr. Shah on this incredible achievement.

2020 Escalator Award Recipients
• Khadijah Breathett, MD, MS – University of Arizona, United States
• Blanche Cupido, MD – Groote Schuur Hospital, South Africa
• Nicola Ryan, MB, BCh, BAO – Aberdeen Royal Infirmary, United Kingdom
• Rashmee Shah, MD – University of Utah, United States
• Harriette Van Spall, MD, MPH – McMaster University, Canada