Skip to main content

Congratulations to Faculty Members for New Extramural Funding - U of U School of Medicine

Congratulations to faculty members in the Division of Hematology and Hematologic Malignancies for new extramural funding. Many members of the Division have additional continuation funding from previous awards.

Drs. Thomas O'Hare and Michael Deininger received a dual principal investigator NIH/NCI grant to study ponatinib resistance in chronic myeloid leukemia. Ponatinib is a specific tyrosine kinase inhibitor for the BCR-ABL1 kinase effective in imatinib-resistant CML. Dr. Deininger also received a subcontract from the Medical College of Wisconsin to study discontinuation of therapy in patients with a complete molecular response to imatinib.

Drs. Atanackovics and Luetkens along with Drs. Deininger and O'Hare received an award from the Myeloproliferative Neoplasms Foundation and Leukemia and Lymphoma Society for studies on using patient T cells expressing chimeric antigen receptors against calreticulin for treatment of myelofibrosis.

Dr. John Phillips received NIH subcontracts to study genetic modifiers of iron disorders in conjunction with the University of California Irvine and the porphyria clinical research consortium led by investigators at Mount Sinai Hospital.

Dr. Michael Pulsipher is a co-investigator on a NIH grant through St Jude's Hospital for clinical trials on haplotyping killer cell immunoglobulin-like receptors for hematopoietic cell transplantation in acute myelogenous leukemia patients.

Dr. Dennis Winge received an NIH award for the study of the biogenesis of succinate dehydrogenase (SDH) and its role in disease. SDH-deficient tumorigenesis is seen in a range of cancers.

Dr. Joanne Reems received an award from the Utah Cluster Acceleration Program for the University Cell Therapy and Regenerative Medicine facility that she operates. This facility provides hematopoietic stem and progenitor cells to support the Division's blood and marrow transplantation service.

Dr. Anna Eiring and Dr. Jamshid Khorashad, postdoctoral fellows in the Deininger/O’Hare lab, were awarded 2-year research fellowships from the American Society of Hematology and the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society, respectively.