Skip to main content

Announcing a Transition in Rheumatology Leadership

Dear Colleagues,

It is with mixed emotions that I remind everyone of Dr. Daniel Clegg's next stage of his career, a well-deserved retirement! He will be stepping down from his position as Chief of the Division of Rheumatology when he retires on January 18, 2021. For more information about Dr. Clegg's retirement, please refer to August 2020's announcement. I want to thank Dr. Clegg again for his dedication to his division, our Department, and the University of Utah.

I am deeply grateful to Dr. Christopher Jackson who will be stepping in as Interim Chief of the Division of Rheumatology effective January 19, 2021. Dr. Jackson is a long-time Ute, completing his residency and Rheumatology Fellowship at the University of Utah. He has been a faculty member in the Division of Rheumatology for 30 years, and currently serves as the division’s Director of Clinical Affairs. He is also the Thomas E. and Rebecca D. Jeremy Presidential Endowed Chair for Arthritis Research. Dr. Jackson is a respected researcher who has helped define the efficacy and safety of methotrexate and biologics in the treatment of inflammatory arthritis. He has received awards for excellence and outstanding teaching at the student, trainee and faculty levels. With his vast knowledge of the division and leadership experience as Associate Division Chief, I have no doubt that the division will flourish during this time of transition.

A Division Chief Search Committee has been formed, and is actively working on identifying the best possible candidates from across the nation. I am extremely grateful to Dr. Corrine Welt, Division Chief of Endocrinology, for chairing this robust search committee. I also thank each of the search committee members for their time and sacrifice on our behalf:

  • Dr. John Bohnsack, Professor & Associate Chair, Department of Pediatrics
  • Dr. Kristina Callis-Duffin, Professor & Chair, Department of Dermatology
  • Dr. Hans Haecker, Professor, Department of Pathology
  • Dori Knight, Operations Manager, Department of Internal Medicine
  • Dr. Daniel Leung, Associate Professor, Division of Infectious Disease
  • Dr. Brian Sauer, Associate Professor, Division of Epidemiology
  • Dr. Jessie Walsh, Associate Professor, Division of Rheumatology

Please join me in wishing Dr. Clegg the best on his retirement journey, and thanking Dr. Jackson in accepting this important leadership role!


John M. Inadomi, MD
Jon M. Huntsman Presidential Chair
Professor and Chair, Department of Internal Medicine
University of Utah School of Medicine